PDA

View Full Version : Shared vs Project Parameters for Schedules

timsea81
2009-05-07, 05:19 PM
I'm just starting to learn how to do schedules in Revit, and trying to figure out the best way add the parameters I want to show up on my schedule. It seems like I can either use project parameters or shared parameters. I have listed below what my understanding is regarding both of these types and the advantages and disadvantages of either route. I was wondering if someone who knows this program better could look it over and clarify anything I'm misunderstanding, and also give some advice on how to proceed with parameters that I want to show up on a schedule. I am doing mechanical design with Revit. Thanks in advance.

Project Parameters:
- associated with project
- associated with a specific category (air terminals, ducts, etc)
- must apply to all elements in a selected category, for example, project parameters for diffusers will associate with any diffuser brought in to the project

Advantages:
- new families brought in to the project will automatically have the parameters based on their category (air terminal, mechanical equipment, etc)

Disadvantages:
- mechanical equipment will have irrelevant parameters (CFM for pumps, for example)
- we can't use the parameters in tags

----

Shared Parameters:
- associated with .txt file
- may or may not apply to all elements of a category

Advantages:
- irrelevant parameters for other mechanical equipment will not show up on those families
- we can use the parameters in tags

Disadvantages:
- we have to apply the parameters to new families we bring in

---

I like the idea of using project parameters because it could all be worked in to the template, but I can't find any way around having a parameter I want only for a pump, for example, also show up as a parameter for an air handler. Any ideas? Thanks.

Mcgregage
2009-05-07, 05:34 PM