View Full Version : Wall Split Region Vertically

2009-06-04, 04:16 PM
I know how to create horizontal split regions in section view and assign layers to create a horizontal band of material change, e.g. brick to split face.

I'm looking for a way to create split regions vertically in plan view (not section view).

See attached wall elevation image for an example of what I'm looking for.

2009-06-04, 08:39 PM
A curtain wall system with custom mullions and panels would work nicely for this scenario

2009-06-04, 09:19 PM
Amazingly useful utility, those curtain walls.

So, now I'll have a curtain wall that's really a brick/CMU cavity wall to go with my curtain wall that's really a storefront window and my curtain wall that's really a stadium dugout railing.

Now I just need to find out how to make curtain walls horizontal so I can have curtain wall floors, ceilings and roofs.

2009-06-04, 10:31 PM
If you start with a mass you can use the Curtain System by Face tool to make your horizontal floors, ceilings, and roofs :lol:
Thats probably relying on curtain walls way too much but I can imagine that somebody somewere has an idea were it would be perfect.

2009-06-05, 03:18 PM
I hope no one construes my remarks as hating on curtain walls. I think they are one of the coolest features of Revit. The problem is they may be TOO cool. Their flexibility makes them an easy fixed to difficult situations.

We have to remember that this is BIM. It's not just about the "M" part. It's also about the "I" part. A door knows it's a door and belongs in a wall, etc. Every time I try to get cute or clever by fooling Revit, it comes back to bite me in the behind somewhere down the way.

2009-06-05, 03:42 PM
That is a very good point, and a lot of the kludgy workarounds that are used in Revit totally mess with the *I* in the B.I.M.

But also worth remembering, using Curtain Wall doesnt always mean messing with the I. For instance, you used Walls as Curtain Panels in the first iteration of this thread, so they still know theyre walls, as well.

Also, there is the "I" in Revit, and the "I" everywhere else. You can change the assembly codes for different Types of Curtain Systems, to respect the classifications of whatever objects youre using them for. Again, its a process that you will have to look at in terms of what is the onject youre using the CW tool for, and which PIECE of the Information are you using at different phases of your project. The "Revit Type" or "Revit catagory" may be paramount to US as revit users, at a certain phase of the project, but as it moves on to other wares, it may be less (or more) relevant...

I use them for Coffered ceilings...

2009-06-05, 09:16 PM
You can also embed one wall type within another. Tutorial here: