PDA

View Full Version : Help drawing a circle using VB.Net

t_alberty
2009-10-12, 02:15 AM
I'm new to AutoCAD (taking an intro community college course), and new to .Net (although at one point I was a competent VB6 programmer). I'm exploring how to modify .DWG's with .Net code. I've reviewed two articles (DE111-2 & DC115-2) and was able to get the example of adding "HelloWorld" text to a drawing working. Now I would like to add a circle to the drawing, but I'm not having any luck. Here is a code snippet based on the "HelloWorld" example:

Dim DB As Database
Dim BT As BlockTable
Dim MS As BlockTableRecord

'Start a transaction to edit the DWG Database
Using trans As Transaction = Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument.TransactionManager.StartTransaction()

' Open Modelspace BlockTableRecord ready to add entity
DB = Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument.Database
BT = trans.GetObject(DB.BlockTableId, OpenMode.ForRead)
MS = trans.GetObject(BT(BlockTableRecord.ModelSpace), OpenMode.ForWrite)

'Create a new circle
Dim oCir As Circle = New Circle

MS.AppendEntity(oCir)

trans.AddNewlyCreatedDBObject(oCir, True)

trans.Commit()

End Using
Visual Studio does not like the MS.AppendEntry or trans.AddNewly... I get a Value of type 'Circle.Circle' cannot be be converted to ... Database.Entity.

I surely don't understand the Object Model yet as I would expect to be able to set properties (e.g. center point and radius) of the circle that I created like this:

oCir.Orign(0,0)
oCir.Radius(1)

Does anyone have any code that they can share that would help me 1) draw a circle and 2) begin to understand the object model?

Thanks,
Tom

Coolmo
2009-10-12, 01:35 PM
I usually don't like redirecting questions to a link but check out the AutoCAD .NET Developer's Guide for this. You won't be disappointed.

http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2010/ENU/AutoCAD%20.NET%20Developer's%20Guide/index.html