PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP Installing 2000i effects add/remove programs



Todd.Worstell
2004-12-15, 04:48 PM
When I install 2000i (over a network), it installs and runs OK. But, when I open my Add/Remove Programs in Window XP, it lists the first several programs and I then have to scroll down about 100 pages on the scroll bar until I get to the bottom to see the rest of my installed software. These pages are just blank white space. Also, 2000i is not in the list of installed programs at all. I even rebuilt my machine from scratch - including formatting the hard drive and getting all Win XP updates. When I install 2000i again, it does the same thing. Anyone have a clue?

Wanderer
2004-12-15, 05:07 PM
When I install 2000i (over a network), it installs and runs OK. But, when I open my Add/Remove Programs in Window XP, it lists the first several programs and I then have to scroll down about 100 pages on the scroll bar until I get to the bottom to see the rest of my installed software. These pages are just blank white space. Also, 2000i is not in the list of installed programs at all. I even rebuilt my machine from scratch - including formatting the hard drive and getting all Win XP updates. When I install 2000i again, it does the same thing. Anyone have a clue?
I have had the space problem with other adesk software, too, but, they always show up on the installed list?

Ed Jobe
2004-12-15, 05:57 PM
You have to edit the registry. Look for a similar key to this:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{5783F2D7-0002-0409-0000-0060B0CE6BBA}

Edit the DisplayIcon value. For some reason, the last parameter gets set to -1. Change it to 1.
"C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD Map 2000i\acad.ico,1"

Todd.Worstell
2004-12-16, 04:19 PM
Thanks Ed. Changing the registry key fixed everything.

Ed Jobe
2004-12-16, 04:22 PM
You're welcome. BTW, this seems to only happen on 2ki products, not 2002 and up.

marc.griffies
2006-08-08, 04:32 PM
i have the same problem but it is with ACAD 2002 of which your fix is said not to fix ACAD 2002 or newer so any help wout be appreicated. Thanks

rkmcswain
2006-08-08, 04:55 PM
i have the same problem but it is with ACAD 2002 of which your fix is said not to fix ACAD 2002 or newer so any help wout be appreicated. Thanks

No, I have seen this on 2002 products. Same change to the registry to fix (the CLSID may be different, but it's not hard to spot the correct uninstall entry - just browse)

jaberwok
2007-03-31, 09:31 PM
....and later .....

yes, this also applies to A2002, including LT.