PDA

View Full Version : Help creating a Surface

adrianmreid212851
2011-03-01, 11:07 PM
Hey guys bare with me please and point out if I make any errors in terms,
I am very new to autocad civil 3d and I have a .dwg file with points that I'm pretty sure have an x-y location and an elevation. All together, they are meant to represent a dirt road with multiple land marks i.e. trees, small buildings, and troughs. My question is how do I create a visible surface using these points? Also, do you have any recommendations as to what I should do in general if you see anything wrong.

Ive attached the file,
Thanks guys

sinc
2011-03-02, 05:57 PM
Yes, you have Cogo Points. You also have a bunch of breaklines, in the form of 3D Polylines.

To create a Surface, simply create a new Surface in Propsector, then add your Cogo Points (as a Point Group) and your 3D Polylines (as Breaklines) to the Surface definition. Select your desired display style for the Surface, and voila. You might still need to do some additional cleanup, such as boundary trimming or triangle flipping, but your Surface should be mostly complete as soon as you add the points and breaklines.

The best thing to do is go through the Tutorials that ship with the product. There's a bunch of things you need to know before you can use Civil 3D effectively, similar to how you need to learn alphabet, grammar, and vocabulary before you can start dissecting literature. The Tutorials go over a lot of this basic information.

Well, actually, the best thing to do is get some training. But in the meantime, the Tutorials are a good starting point, and step you through some of these basic tasks like building a Surface.

adrianmreid212851
2011-03-06, 06:54 PM
Thank you so much for your help.
Believe me I would love to get some training if anyone around taught it

Here's what I did.