PDA

View Full Version : Hardware Configuration for Mechanical Desktop

thelanlegend
2005-01-11, 04:53 PM
I am a local system builder in Casper Wyoming, and I am working closely with a company that is gearing up to purchase a machine for use with Mechanical Desktop as well as AutoCAD and other software. We want to do our best for this customer to configure a machine to the purpose they are looking for, but our experience with the applications is limited if not non-existant. Through a little research and a few guidelines from the client we have put together some semblence of a configuration for them, and I would appreciate if a few of you on this forum that possibly have used some or all of this hardware with these applications can tell me where I'm going wrong, or perhaps make a few suggestions.

The guidelines we were given were as follows:

Minimum 3.2ghz processor
2GB RAM
Two 250GB SATA Harddrives in a RAID 0 configuration.
DVD-RW
Windows XP Professional

Where they were unsure is the area of the video card that would work best for their purpose. A colleague of theirs recommended the QuadroFX 1300/1400 cards as well as a 3.6 P4EE Processor. Through some research through our distrobution channel we have come to find out there are numerous accounts of heat issues with that particular processor and the AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 processor as it perfoms admirably without the heat issue. Further investigation shows that currently the nVidia QuadroFX cards are running on the PCI-X architecture rather than AGP which presents a problem as AMD doesn't support PCI-X currently.

My question is thus; would we be better off configuring this system with the AMD and going with ATI's FireGL line or perhaps another manufacturer, or should we go with the Intel (heat issues aside) and go with the QuadroFX cards?