PDA

View Full Version : 2011 Building Surface For Layout

jamesdmstronach282214
2011-07-26, 04:29 PM
Hello All,

I'm new to the community and had it reccomended by a fellow drafter/GET. Hopefully you can offer some help or direction.

I am working with C3D 2011 & have been for a few years now however most of my experience has been producing simple 2D legal plans. I've recently taken a new job with a general contractor who uses GPS guided machines and have started encountering headaches when building Tin files. My experience in the past with Tins has been limited almost exclusively to building models of existing ground from surveyed data and I have little to no experience with "reconstructing" surfaces from a provided design.

In specific what I'd like to know is how best to go about building a tin model to represent sub/finished grades for basic civil works (building excavations, parking lots, landscape features) from an existing set of plans. I've used my existing skill set and combined that with the available tutorials within ACAD as well as my google-fu but am often coming up blank.

Is there a good resource for this kind of surface building you can think of or direct me to? I've created a short list below of the few major problems I find myself running into:

What is the best way to create a planar surface (like a parking lot) when I have spot elevations and design contours or % slopes available? I find I always end up with bumps and irregularities.
What's the best way to describe a curb? I've tried using various types of breaklines but never seem to get the clearly defined curb line I'd like to see.
What are good mid-ordinate, supplementing, and weeding factors to use for features like parking lots/concrete work? How about for contour lines defining landscape elements?