PDA

View Full Version : Which points to include while creating surface

chasm9a252523
2012-08-04, 02:38 PM
Hi i am quite new to autocad civil 3d.

Basically i am designing or rehabilitating a road.
I have a collection of PENZD (comma delimited) points which i want to use to create a surface.

These points include trees, existing road pavement edges, points taken on shoulders, points taken on a land surface, electric poles, telephone pole, inlets & outlets of culverts both pipe and box culverts, benchmark points, graveyards, water courses, retaining walls, boundary walls of houses, points on railway tracks.

Now i want to know when i create a surface, should i include all the points. (since more are the points, more is the accuracy).
OR
should i use limited set of points like points taken on land surface, existing road and shoulders of existing road to create the surface.

I have to calculate the volume of material required to create my proposed profile. I am very much confused about it.

I have tried to create a surface from only points taken on land and then another surface of points taken only pavement and shoulder only. And when i drew the profile there was like 1.0 m difference between the two surface.( the road surface was 1.0m above the EG suface) (By Road I mean the existing road and not proposed road.)

I also tried combining the points taken on land, points taken on pavement and points taken on shoulders but when i draw its profile, it was like zig zag shape.

One thing is that we have to follow the existing road alignment and is not changeable.( the current road is 3.6m wide while the new road would be 5.5m wide plus 2.0m shoulders on each side)

Please help me remove this confusion as how can i make my calculations accurate.

Thanks

Opie
2012-08-05, 01:19 AM