PDA

View Full Version : 2012 Struggling with AutoCAD Mac

Reef Inmate
2012-12-14, 01:03 PM
Hi there, I am a new Mac user and AutoCAD User all in one, so this should be fun. I have been designing in TurboCAD on a PC for the past 15 years but have decided to try the Mac and Autocad.

I am having a problem combing two rectangles with the Union command. Please see attached drawing?

No matter what I try I just cannot get the result I want. Any ideas?

Thanks

Leigh van Zyl
Durban
South Africa

rkmcswain
2012-12-14, 01:10 PM
I'm going to assume you are using the ._UNION command.....are you getting this message on the command line after you select the two rectangles?

"At least 2 solids, surfaces, or coplanar regions must be selected."

The ._UNION command does not do what you are trying to do.
Use the ._TRIM command, and then the ._JOIN command.
(I'm speaking from the Windows version, hopefully these commands are in the MAC version...)

Reef Inmate
2012-12-14, 01:40 PM
I am using the Union command, but not by typing it the command bar but rather by selecting it form the toolbar. I do not get any messages like you say in the command line.

I attempt to do it in this order.

Draw the two rectangles.
Select the Union tool.
The cursor changes from crosshair to a small square with message below saying "select objects"
I select both objects.
The command line also says "select objects"
From this point I can go no further.
If I hit enter, the two selected objects become unselected, the same as when I right click with the mouse.

This happens with the Union, Subtract and Intersect tools.

Thanks

Leigh

xSmiffyx
2012-12-14, 02:12 PM
As rkmcswain posted the union cmmand only works with solid objects. You could trim and join as mentioned or jusr run a polyline over the two rectangles to get your desired shape.

cadtag
2012-12-14, 02:53 PM