PDA

View Full Version : material flipping

J-G
2004-01-10, 12:05 AM
I have noticed that materials seem to fip on curved surfaces. I am having this problem with some swooped roofs, and with a turret that has a sweeped profile as for a stone veneer. I am a novice and don't know how to fix this.

marcumjohnson1743
2004-01-10, 07:11 AM
Its been a long time issue with barrel roofs also.
Suggest bringing it up to support and requesting a fix.

Archman
2004-01-10, 03:09 PM
Its been a long time issue with barrel roofs also.
Suggest bringing it up to support and requesting a fix.

I agree completely. Try doing a standing seam material on a barrell vault roof. It's almost impossible to get the seam spacing right.

J-G
2004-01-10, 05:46 PM
Is there any work around at all? I have a project that I am going to need to render and it is full of roof swoops, and veneers like the one I posted.

Archman
2004-01-10, 09:07 PM
The only workaround I can think of is to make a mnaterial that is rotated 90 degrees from what you show in your picture. You would have to do this for each material you have assigned to a curved object.

J-G
2004-01-12, 05:12 AM
I created a new material with the orientation flipped, and this works for my swooped roofs...but what can be done about conical roofs? I don't even know where to start with this one! Surely someone has came up with a solution?
http://www.zoogdesign.com/forums/phpBB2/download.php?id=1175

gregcashen
2004-01-12, 05:37 AM