PDA

View Full Version : Journal file DBG_WARN

valamar2005-site
2005-06-18, 12:21 PM
Hi all,
I have this two warnings within the journal file.. BUGS???
DBG_WARN: Paul now requests that you keep data dictionary entries sorted by increasing offset.: line 599 of Archive\DataDict.cpp.
"DBG_WARN: Revit has allocated far more than the expected number of GDI resources -- check for leaks.: line 3405 of MFC\CRS.cpp."

One more question...
Journal files are dedicated to debugging, aren't they? Can't we script also?

Sorry for that (perhaps) silly questions but I am only a beginner!

FK
2005-06-18, 01:42 PM
These warnings talk about efficiency, so you can ignore them.

You can script if you like, as long as you don't expect any support and are OK with any release or build breaking your scripts.

James.Lupton
2005-07-04, 09:36 PM
We have used the journal files to control repetitive processes such as exporting views for a construction sequence

For example

to export a sequence of images controlled by switching on each phase in turn.
to export a group of AVI files each of which represents a fly through of part of a model with certain phases switched on.
to export 3D dwg files representing each phase of the proposed construction (this is normally used for export to NavisWorks)
Updating previous version families to the latest version.

Basically anything that is repetitive can be scripted with the journal file.

Most of the journal file is output information which is not needed and when you get to grips with it you can cut the file down to a few simple commands.

What I would like to do is to be able to run the same scripts as we can using the journal file from an external command through the API.

I am not sure if this is possible yet.

GuyR
2005-07-04, 10:00 PM
What I would like to do is to be able to run the same scripts as we can using the journal file from an external command through the API.