PDA

View Full Version : Text problems with multiple files open

rmoore
2005-12-28, 10:13 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to Inventor and there is one thing I've noticed on my system that isn't right when I have multiple files open.

I can read all sketch dimensions, text, etc.. in the first file that I have open, but in all files opened afterwords, text items are not legible. The later files text simply look like filled blocks instead of dimensions or text. (See attached)

I have Inventor Series 10, Windows XP Pro, 4G ram, default HP Graphics Card (not certified).

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Sincerely,
Ron Moore

mikef.nosler
2005-12-29, 12:39 AM
You spent the money on a hot machine, take the leap and put a decent video card in the thing as well. We tried to use the base cards in our HP machines and although we did not see the errors you are seeing, we saw other graphics errors that were difficult to accept. I am as cheap as the next guy, but when it comes to CAD I try to be sure to get a reputable card that works well in the system for reasonable money. The last card I bought is an ATI FireGL v5100 and we got it pretty cheap ($199). We are also running nVidia Quadro4 980 XGL (but it is a retired card now) and they work good too.

Did you get your switch set to recognize the increased RAM capacity? Rymal posted a thread regarding memory being recognized and needing to change a switch in an ini file. Autodesk was able to help him with that. We have not had to do that here (only running 2gig) but that will help you use that excess ram you have. That may be an issue you are seeing there.

Good luck!

rmoore
2005-12-29, 02:30 PM
Mike,

Thanks for the response! I just discovered the tweak to get Inventor to recognize the extra ram but when I implemented it there was no difference in the graphics behavior.