PDA

View Full Version : STEEL BEAM STICK VIEW SETTINGS HELP

residarchitect
2006-03-27, 08:17 PM
I am a residential architect and am attempting to use steel shapes and
columns for the first time in Revit. I have always shown my steel and
columns as 2D representations. I have taken the plunge and like the
shapes, etc. however, I can not get the Steel Beam to show up as a
stick line despite clicking on Stick View On Top.

Help. What am I not doing correctly. Here is a screen print of what I
see. I want the beam to be shown as a broken dashed line.

rmcelvain.103137
2006-03-27, 11:22 PM
What you are seeing is the fine representation of the steel beams. If you need to have the rest of the view set to fine then you can go into the steel beam family and change the visibility there. I am at home right now but will put some screen shots together tomorrow morning for clarification if you need it.

Best of luck!

Paul Andersen
2006-03-28, 12:10 AM
A couple of other tips. Right click -> properties on the beam and note it's Structural Usage under the Structural Heading. It should be one of the following: Girder, Horizontal Bracing, Joist, Other, or Purlin. As Rick has already pointed out the stick symbol for structural elements typically shows in coarse view only. After you select the appropriate structural usage for the member you can set it's object style to display how you would like. Go to Object Styles -> Structural Framing -> Girder (for example) and set it's Line Weight, Color, Pattern, etc. to your liking. Finally, If your view is set to anything other than coarse you will want to override the Visibility/Graphic for the Structural Framing Category. View -> Visibility Graphics ... (VV or VG) -> Structural Framing -> and set the Detail Level to coarse.

rmcelvain.103137
2006-03-28, 03:35 PM
-> Structural Framing -> and set the Detail Level to coarse.