PDA

View Full Version : Worksets for the very first time - EEK!

DanielleAnderson
2006-03-31, 11:35 PM
Okay, first of all, I put this thread here in 'general' so that people might actually see it.
I need some support-group time here...
Hi, my name is Danielle and I've been using Revit for 3 years now and I have never touched worksets. :Oops: (watching my reputation points dive well below that of our Underworld Ruler)
Okay, so on Monday, the project I am now working on is about to gain at least 2 extra workers and I know I have to now employ worksets. I played around with them way back in v5 but have never had to work on a multi-user project so I haven't touched them since. I've heard they have greatly improved but I am still a bit nervous about them. And to add to it, this is this firm's revit pilot project so I don't want to screw this up so that they are like, wow, new girl doesn't know what she's talking about.
So, if anyone has any pearls of wisdom over the weekend, they would be greatly appreciated. :)
Thanks!

Wes Macaulay
2006-04-01, 12:14 AM
Not too much to say -- things are a lot easier, but you must use 8.1, and preferably the latest build (20060124_2200).

Make sure the Worksets toolbar is turned on for each employee -- you won't be able to see the current workset
No one should sign out worksets any more -- no need to. Just grab objects and run!
Remember that you can create new worksets that are not visible by default -- great when you're adding objects that are only to be seen in one view
User-created worksets contain only 3D data; view worksets contain everything else
Grids and level datums live on user-created worksets -- make sure they're on the right workset
Worksets are like layers in that you can get stuff on the wrong workset -- but you can go back later and change a 3D object's workset (all 2D stuff lives in the workset of the view it's in)