PDA

View Full Version : Curved Beams, in place families

swatts
2006-05-08, 05:38 PM
I'm very new at this and I'm getting bogged down with curved beams.

I have gone through the information about creating a curved beam/in-place family and I've created one curved beam. Is it true that the "in-place-family" is one beam and only that one? Must I create a new family every time I want to draw another curved beam. This doesn't seem right. What am I missing? My family shows up in the family list, but how do I use it again to draw another beam?

Also, when I have done it right will I be able to change the profile/beam size without deleting and re-drawing the curved beam? Can I have a curved beam family that allows me to change radius, length, and profile as I place and edit the beams?

Many questions...

rmcelvain.103137
2006-05-08, 11:45 PM
I'm very new at this and I'm getting bogged down with curved beams.

I have gone through the information about creating a curved beam/in-place family and I've created one curved beam.

Is it true that the "in-place-family" is one beam and only that one?
Must I create a new family every time I want to draw another curved beam. This doesn't seem right.
What am I missing?
My family shows up in the family list, but how do I use it again to draw another beam?
Also,when I have done it right will I be able to change the profile/beam size without deleting and re-drawing the curved beam?
Can I have a curved beam family that allows me to change radius, length, and profile as I place and edit the beams?
Many questions...
Swatts,

1. One Beam - One Family, that is correct (the developers know this is a concern).

2. You do no necessarily have to "create" a new family in the sense that you can use the copy command. This will create a new family for you; you'll want to modify the name of it so you can recognize it.

3. You're not missing anything except a curved beam function :(

4. See 2.