PDA

View Full Version : CAD Standards manual, freely sharing with everyone...

bob.kalsi66006
2006-06-06, 11:36 AM
Not sure how other people may do this where they work. This is the CAD standards that we have set up and work to. Please feel free to apply this setup to your own.

robert.1.hall72202
2006-06-06, 01:04 PM
That looks good. I have a small section in my cad standards that looks similar to what you have here. My cad standards includes about 40 pages of design standards. It is more of a training/reference manual than a cad standard.

I work in manufacturing and my cad standard includes default part tolerances and major process parameters. Puts the writting on the wall and lets everyone in the company understand the design basics.

Birdy
2006-06-06, 08:55 PM
Thanks a lot Slash. This is exactly what I've been looking for....sort of.
Well, not really looking, but there's a lot of stuff there that I can implement into ours. :) I really like the organization.
Will probably set ours up online as a web based manual....someday...when things slow down....

....and I don't have a bunch of stupid questions to answer....

bob.kalsi66006
2006-06-07, 08:42 AM
No worries guys. Other than the manual theres another way to set up standards via CAD. I'm not sure how this is done but i have seen it before but basically you create a button and when you press the button on a completely new drawing, it imports in all the layers that are used. Off course these layers will have to be created first but if someone is starting a new drawing the most common method is to do a save as on another drawing and erase everything then purging. I think, and i stress i think this layer button is an add on which can be downloaded i think from the AutoDesk website.

If anyone knows of this "layers button" please let us know how it's done.

Glad i could be of help :-)

Mike.Perry
2006-06-07, 08:48 AM
<SNIP>

If anyone knows of this "layers button" please let us know how it's done.Hi

Maybe...