View Full Version : Converting line segments into polyline

2006-08-16, 05:50 PM
I have the whole city centerlines broken into line segments. When i display the streetnames, it becomes clutter and one stretch of the street has 5-10 same streetname. I would like to create polyline so one stretch of line would have one street names.

Glenn Pope
2006-08-16, 05:56 PM
Check out the MAPCLEAN command. There you can easily attach lines together into one polyline and weed out the extra vertices that aren't needed.

2006-08-16, 06:10 PM
As Glenn said you can use the Map cleanup tools to join the plines together and weed out some of it. It won't get all of it esp. if there are a lot of curevs in the centerlines. What are you using to display the street names? Anno blocks, labels, or doing a alter text query? 2007 was suppose to have a new label feature the prevents this from happening.

2006-08-16, 08:09 PM
my lines are attached. I just need to convert it to polylines.

Glenn Pope
2006-08-16, 09:00 PM
MAPCLEAN will do that. Also PEDIT will ask to convert to polylines too.

2006-09-01, 09:38 AM
Yes it is possible to do that, but problem is because there was not database condition or data condition.
If you are line segments where you except Street name have house numbers on left and right side, what will be results?
Results will be that line are connected to line string, but what will be with attribute data which are different for each line segment!

2007-05-29, 06:24 AM
I have contours drawn in line format. I wish to join them into a polyline. Obviously there are too many to use PE command. What is the cleanup action you are supposed to use to join the polylines? I have tried Extend Undershoots, Apparent Intersection, Simplify Objects and i have also selected to Convert the Selected Objects (line to Polyline and there are no arcs in the drawing).

Any ideas?

2007-05-29, 03:37 PM
Apparent intersections and simplify objects should do it. Set your tolerances up for the simplify objects to something greater the 1.00. (may need to go as high as 10 or better) start small and work up to get what you thinks looks good.

2007-05-30, 03:47 PM
You can also use PEDIT and grab random groups of lines, the JOIN function will combine lines with matching endpoints.

Beware attached data as posted before, you only get data from the first line used in the JOIN, if you have no data its and easy way to do it.


2007-06-25, 01:56 PM
Here is another idea. Create a network topology of the linework. Query. If your acadmap.ini file is setup to create selection sets, you can work with the objects in your query. In mapclean, manual selection; choose P (previous), dissolve pseodonodes will join the ends together when convert line to polyline is chosen. (If there are splines or other old linetypes, export to polyline shape file with any data, and reimport. Arc and circle are broken into smaller lines in shape files. See below for a piece of info that I think is useful.)

FYI; MapExport.ini (CHANGE the segmentation)

I wanted to figure a way to make an arc created in AutodeskMap is to be the same as a how an arc is made in ArcMap. I created identical circles in both and found AutodeskMap to be made of 18 segments and ArcMap to have 2000. This can be changed in the MapExport.ini file by changing the DEGREES PER EDGE to .18 instead of the default of 5. (Get rid of the semicolon in front when changing the numbers.)

:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\Autodesk Land Desktop 2007\R17.0


; This option determines how export will segment splines.

; To change the way a format works with objects switch the semi-colon
; (;) for each corresponding option. A semi-colon placed in front of a line
; turns off that option. This will change the Export dialog according to the
; settings you choose. Note that some formats can not be changed, only the ones
; that display the extra commented lines - ARCINFO, E00, SHAPE, and GML2.

; The Driver:FME_ARC_DEGREES_PER_EDGE=2 option determines the segmentation of
; Arcs and Ellipses for the formats that do not support Arcs or Ellipses. For
; MIF and MAPINFO it only determines the Segmentation of Ellipses where the axes
; are at an angle, otherwise the MIF and MAPINFO formats support Arcs and Ellipses.




Good Luck,