PDA

View Full Version : Getting started with Civil 3D

ntowne
2006-09-14, 02:54 PM
I don't know if this belong in the General thread or not. My company is finally switching from SiteCOMP to AutoCAD Civil 3D. I am very familiar with AutoCAD. I have been using it now for 2 years and I know I am no pro at it yet. I am fortunately the one that gets to set-up the system and put all the layers and blocks,etc. in. Is there any useful website or books that I can get to help me with this. I know they won't hire somebody to come in and set it up, so it is up to me to do this. Please, help!
Thank you.
Nora

rkmcswain
2006-09-14, 03:14 PM
Nothing personal, but if you are making the move to Civil 3D, you are going to need some professional assistance, at least from your reseller, and probably from a consultant. In fact if your reseller is throwing this at you without this recommendation, I would start looking for another reseller.

Civil 3D is a beast. Do you have multiple users? If so, then Vault becomes an added headache to worry about. This isn't as simple as setting up AutoCAD.

Explore the C3D newsgroup: http://discussion.autodesk.com/forum.jspa?forumID=66
Explore all the C3D blogs/websites: (there are links on the right margin of my web site): http://rkmcswain.blogspot.com/

Wanderer
2006-09-14, 03:25 PM
Hi there, Nora. I'm going to move this thread from the AutoCAD 2007 General forum to this one, as I believe it will be better served here. Thank you.

I don't know if this belong in the General thread or not. My company is finally switching from SiteCOMP to AutoCAD Civil 3D. I am very familiar with AutoCAD. I have been using it now for 2 years and I know I am no pro at it yet. I am fortunately the one that gets to set-up the system and put all the layers and blocks,etc. in. Is there any useful website or books that I can get to help me with this. I know they won't hire somebody to come in and set it up, so it is up to me to do this. Please, help!
Thank you.
Nora