PDA

View Full Version : Exterior Rendering - Interior Lighting

kms.118789
2007-04-04, 02:51 PM
I'm relatively new to VIZ and have begun rendering an exterior shot (imported from Revit) I seem to have the materials, sun, etc. pretty well nailed down but I would like to add some interior lights to get some depth. However when I add lights to the interior (both target point and target area) they don't seem to show up. I don't know if I'm using the wrong type of light, their settings, or if I need to adjust the model settings in anyway. I'm wondering if anyone may have some tips on how to better, or even begin, to light the interior of an exterior rendering???

stusic
2007-04-04, 04:25 PM
Can you describe the scene a little more? It may help narrow it down a bit...

A few things you may look into:

- Be sure the scene is to scale. Often when importing from other programs, the scale will get distorted. This can make lights appear incorrectly (actually, they always appear correctly, but if your model is scaled up, they may be too small to see any difference).

- Do you think the sun (are you using a sunlight?) might be washing out the interior lights, which would be much softer?

- Are you showing the interior through a window? Could there be an issue involved there somewhere?

Any more information you can provide may help, but these are the ideas that immediately came to mind.

kms.118789
2007-04-04, 05:01 PM