PDA

View Full Version : Plan Region

Michael.c
2007-05-09, 07:07 AM
Hi all
First post....here goes!
Being new here, I'm also very new with Revit. Just a brief question to start with that I'm sure has an obvious answer.
I have a floor plan, showing ductwork / grilles / ceiling grid etc. NOTE, the cut plane is taken just below the underside of the floor above to ensure that all services in the ceiling are visible in the plan.
What I am finding is that the doors / windows don't show up. I realise this is because the cut plane is high up in the ceiling void and not at a level that cuts through both items, eg, 1500mm above floor, or thereabouts, but obviously, I want the doors / windows to show up. So I put a plan region over the walls at 1500 above floor level. (very time consuming). They now appear, but other items that are above the plan region disappear.
Is the 'plan region' method the standard way of overcoming this problem....or is there another answer?
Many thanks....

Brian Myers
2007-05-12, 11:58 PM
I want the doors / windows to show up. So I put a plan region over the walls at 1500 above floor level. (very time consuming). They now appear, but other items that are above the plan region disappear.

Unfortunately I don't believe there is a good way to do what you wish, at least not automatically. You could put the plan in as an Underlay on your reflected ceiling plan then go in and place families/groups of linework / filled regions (depending on the representation you want) over these openings as shown from the underlay locations. Then simply shut the Underlay off as you'll no longer need it.

It's a workaround, but it'll work.

LRaiz
2007-05-13, 01:17 AM
Assuming you want a regular plan, not RCP but want to see a number of overhead items you may try the following
set regular cut plane height of 4' above floor
use underlay of the same level to make overhead items visible
use linework tool and pick overhead components to capture the intent to have them displayed