PDA

View Full Version : Create Parameters in Families

kv
2007-08-28, 02:33 PM
Hi,

I'm new to the RevitAPI. Could you tell me if it is possible to do the following :
* I have an excel-sheet with parameters and values
* I have a library of about 200 families
* I want to add at each family a parameter from the excel sheet + iets value. So open each family, add parameter, add value..and this in a loop.

Reading the excel-sheet is not a problem. But can I add (shared) parameters and parametervalues to families in a loop

Kind Regards

GuyR
2007-08-28, 10:32 PM
You can create project parameters (instances or types) but you can't add family parameters to families in RAC2008.

HTH,

Guy

VinceFerrero
2007-08-29, 02:12 AM
What about rooms? Can you feed data from an excel spreadsheet to room "fields"?

Scott D Davis
2007-08-29, 02:23 AM
Hi,

I'm new to the RevitAPI. Could you tell me if it is possible to do the following :
* I have an excel-sheet with parameters and values
* I have a library of about 200 families
* I want to add at each family a parameter from the excel sheet + iets value. So open each family, add parameter, add value..and this in a loop.

Reading the excel-sheet is not a problem. But can I add (shared) parameters and parametervalues to families in a loop

Kind Regards

Why don't you make type catalogs from your excel files/ Saveas TXT from excel, using the same name as the family. If the parameter names in the family match the parameter names in the type catalog, you can open the family and pick the types you want from the list. All the AISC steel shapes are done this way if you need examples.

Steve_Stafford
2007-08-29, 04:42 AM