PDA

View Full Version : Parcel Best Practices

Brian Benton
2007-10-23, 07:24 PM
I am new to Civil3D, fresh out of basic training!!! I am looking for some Best Practices. Why reinvent the wheel? My issue, I am creating parcels, basically for the entire site. I have a multi-product residential area that I need to subdivide, some lots into single family, and others into multi-family. What comes first? A parcel for the entire site, then the lots, then the wetland areas, lakes, etc. Or... do I just create a parcel for each lot?

Thanks for the tips.

sinc
2007-10-26, 10:26 PM
This is a loaded question.

Parcels are really not designed correctly in Civil-3D, so there's no real good way of doing it. You basically do what you have to.

In theory, you can do everything in one giant Site. Every lot, tract, piece of ROW, etc., are all Parcels in that one Site.

However, in practice, that often doesn't work. And since it is impossible to create Data References or Data Shortcuts to parcels, it can turn into something of a nightmare.

There are a lot of posts in Autodesk's DGs about this. You should also check out some of Dana's posts on the subject, such as this one:

http://civil3drocks.blogspot.com/2006/06/parcel-rules-explained.html

Dana also wrote some posts on "the Art of Span" that goes over Spanning Labels, but I'm not sure offhand where those are - probably at Civil3D.com.

This is an area that you'll have to fight through. Start with the basic post on Parcel Rules I gave the link to above, then search Autodesk's DG and Civil3D.com, and read everything you find. This will allow you to ask more-focused questions about what to do next, because you will certainly have more questions.

Yancka
2007-11-27, 02:17 PM
After some land planning projects done partly with C3D I have some ideas about what to do and what - not to do.