PDA

View Full Version : Light Gage Metal Stud

Thomas Maleski
2007-10-29, 03:48 PM
Don't know if anyone is interested but I have a Mtl Stud family. Take a look and comment if you see errors.

I used the SSMA catalog to get the properties and types. Currently we were only interested in the overall shape. I will calculate the Xcg later as well, but for now I set them all at 0.500" I was going to add the structural properties at a later time since the only program we have to design ltga is RAM Advanse and there is no API, the need was not there. I also left the two tag placeholders empty for now.

aaronrumple
2007-10-29, 05:23 PM
...Autodesk should pay you for that effort.

Thomas Maleski
2007-10-29, 05:59 PM
I wont hold my breath

Here's the track section

phil.156294
2008-01-18, 07:13 PM
These are great. Thanks for the files. I'm new to revit so I'm wondering how you can uses these files in a vertical span capability. They work great in a horizontal application such as a floor framing but I would also like to use them in a vertical application. Any insight?

mwoods
2008-01-22, 10:38 PM
I have heard if you are on subscription you may download a family of lt ga mtl studs that includes all SSMA products.

Thomas Maleski
2008-01-23, 01:18 PM
..and they resemble the ones I sent up to autodesk.

patricks
2008-01-23, 02:14 PM
These are great. Thanks for the files. I'm new to revit so I'm wondering how you can uses these files in a vertical span capability. They work great in a horizontal application such as a floor framing but I would also like to use them in a vertical application. Any insight?

I looked at the family and the stud is modeled horizontally with "always vertical" checked in the family categories box. I'm not sure if unchecking that would let you rotate it vertically or not.