PDA

View Full Version : VBA - Mini-Doc Mgmt - MSACC97 ACAD2K4

chill3490
2004-09-27, 03:41 PM
To those interested,

I am just learning VBA ( ATP courses, et al) and would like to employ it in setting up a mini-document mgmt system using both MS Access 97 (DAO) and AutoCAD 2004 and would like to bounce ideas off people doing roughly the same thing...i.e. using VBA to extract dwg info from block attributes , semi-automatic xfer and/or updating of data between app's, etc.

Regards,

Clint Hill
Designer
Win XP Pro
AcadMech2k4

Ed Jobe
2004-09-27, 03:53 PM
I still have 97 at home although I use 2000 at work. We've used Cyco Automanager for years and I've written a lot code for it. Instead of upgrading, I thought about doing it myself, but our needs take it beyound Acess's capabilities. But I've done a lot of db work with Access and might be able to offer help. What ideas did you want to bounce?

chill3490
2004-09-27, 04:18 PM
Ed,

With the premise of biting off little pieces of info, this thread might be spread over an extended period and I foresee it mainly dealing with AutoCAD data extraction with a foray into the db side...

With that in mind:

Would you suggest this be coded within AutoCAD VBA or MSAccess? Why?

Ed Jobe
2004-09-27, 04:27 PM
It depends upon the task at hand, but probably most of your code would be in Access, it already uses DAO, so you wouldn't have to reference other libraryies from acad and that's where the object you would be working with reside. If you have to, you can call a function written in Access from withing acad, and vice versa. Do all users have Access installed? or are you using Office Developer to create a distribuatble exe?

chill3490
2004-09-27, 06:03 PM
Ed,

Do all users have Access installed?The users have Access ( the company is still using MS Office 97 Pro).