PDA

View Full Version : Cross Section in Paper Space

designcadd
2004-10-06, 03:30 PM
A New Guy Question.

I am new to adt and paper space. I am using adt 2005.
I have drawn a single story home and what to do a cross section thought the middle of it ( from front to back ) I have made a paper space called Cross and have on it one view port for my one elevation of a cross section of my home.
In my tool palette I will use ( section mark a3t ).

My 1st question is--- Should the section line be in paper space on the floor plan view where I need it to be printed out and not in model space. I would think it would be treated like a dimension and be drawn in paper space.

The 2nd question is-- I do not want a cross section elevation in my model space but just in my paper space in the viewport that I tell to be in. So far what I have been told and learn that I have to have a cross section in model space and then do a viewport around that. I am wondering why I cannot tell my viewport to generate a view from the section line?

Some words of wisdom please!!

Thanks

mjfarrell
2004-10-06, 04:04 PM
I think the concept that is escaping you here
is that the section line should be in model space
so that it is "in touch" with the model.
If one draws that section line in paper space is
is just a line, because it can't see the model that
you want to section.

The work flow with ADT, use the Conceptual tools to
visualize the masses that make up the structure.
Then use the Design tools to add doors and windows
and define spaces within that mass.
Then use the documentation tools to create your schedules
for doors and windows and fixtures.
All of this is based on first building the model in model space,
thus the sections of this model will be created in model space
and you will need to create a viewport in your layout to see this section.

Your display representation sets will control the section line visibility
in other views that it should not appear in. It will only plot in