Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: polyline vs 2d polyline

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    365


    Default polyline vs 2d polyline

    I have searched for an explanation but can't find one. Can someone explain the difference between a polyline and a 2d polyline and why does Autocad have both.
    Robert

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    2,893


    Default Re: polyline vs 2d polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by rmk View Post
    I have searched for an explanation but can't find one. Can someone explain the difference between a polyline and a 2d polyline and why does Autocad have both.
    If I'm not mistaken, a polyline is a 2d polyline, (I don't know of a 2d pline command).
    There is a 3D polyline though, command: "3dpoly" where you can set vertices at different elevations as well as x and y coordinates.

    So to recap, "pline" = 2d polyline, versus "3dpoly" = 3d polyline.

    thats my take on it.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 7 Professional
    AutoCAD 2017 - REVIT 2017 - Inventor Professional 2015 (when I can)

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Big "D"
    Posts
    3,711


    Default Re: polyline vs 2d polyline

    I found this searching google:

    2D Polylines are the old style polylines. They store their vertex
    information inefficiently compared to the lightweight polyline, or the
    "normal" polyline to which you are used.

    and this

    a 2d polyline wil take up more memory than a regular polyline, as the vertex information is stored differently. the current 2d polyline system is how all 2d polylines used to be stored, and cad moved towards the newer way, "regular polylines" to cut down on memory use and regen time
    Why is it called common sense when it is so rare?

    RevitForum.org

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Posts
    2,356


    Default Re: polyline vs 2d polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by dzatto View Post
    I found this searching google:

    2D Polylines are the old style polylines. They store their vertex
    information inefficiently compared to the lightweight polyline, or the
    "normal" polyline to which you are used.
    That's correct, 2d polylines are legacy objects from Acad R14 and earlier.

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    365


    Default Re: polyline vs 2d polyline

    Thanks for trying to explain it, but it is still as clear as mud to me. is there a way to convert 2d plines to "regular" plines, or am i stuck with them. i am trying to do some data extraction and some of the lines or regular and some are 2d. any suggestions.
    Robert

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Posts
    2,356


    Default Re: polyline vs 2d polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by rmk View Post
    Thanks for trying to explain it, but it is still as clear as mud to me. is there a way to convert 2d plines to "regular" plines, or am i stuck with them. i am trying to do some data extraction and some of the lines or regular and some are 2d. any suggestions.
    Simply using the polyline edit (pedit) command on a 2D polyline converts it to a standard pline.

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Big "D"
    Posts
    3,711


    Default Re: polyline vs 2d polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by H'Angus View Post
    Simply using the polyline edit (pedit) command on a 2D polyline converts it to a standard pline.
    Or you could use the CONVERTPOLY command. This lets you do multiple plines at once. You want to convert them to "light" plines.
    Why is it called common sense when it is so rare?

    RevitForum.org

  8. #8
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,569


    Default Re: polyline vs 2d polyline

    Terminology only -

    the new-style polylines are often called "lightweight polylines" because they require less data storage.
    as a result, older polylines are occasionally referred to as being "heavyweight".

    I doubt that any of this will affect your data extraction though.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  9. #9

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: z value at intersection points in 3d polyline and polyline
    By jaychandran in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-10-30, 05:20 PM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2007-09-10, 05:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •