See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: #$&%! - why can't Autodesk at least provide at least the BASIC REVIT family in MEP?

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-08
    Posts
    9
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: #$&%! - why can't Autodesk at least provide at least the BASIC REVIT family in MEP?

    We are out of Washington and we use oval ducts on almost every job.

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-06
    Posts
    14
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: #$&%! - why can't Autodesk at least provide at least the BASIC REVIT family in MEP?

    We use Flat Oval alot, here in Kentucky.

  3. #23
    I could stop if I wanted to dmb.100468's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    222
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: #$&%! - why can't Autodesk at least provide at least the BASIC REVIT family in MEP?

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford View Post
    Most of the firms I've worked with use Oval duct as a preference here in the US. It is more efficient than rectangular and "looks nice"...so in exposed ceiling conditions they prefer oval. I hear about the lack of this capability from the majority of HVAC engineers I meet in the US.
    and yet it still doesn't exist in Revit MEP....

    With all the "ranting and raving" maybe we should hold a Town Hall Meeting in the wish list forum.

  4. #24
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2012-11
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: #$&%! - why can't Autodesk at least provide at least the BASIC REVIT family in MEP?

    I agree with the original post. Revit MEP is very lacking. Almost everything in the building industry requires a work-around. It is not a productive tool unless your are doing super-simple tenant-finish type proejcts. I just spent 2 hours routing one 3/4" pipe about 20 ft., which would take about 1 minute in AutoCAD. Now I want to put in a thermostat symbol - just a circle with a T in it - and nothing! the idea that we have to spend the time to make a family for that is nuts. Most people I talk to, including architects, are using Revit for coordination and "aesthetics", and it does make sections quickly, but not for details. Consultants are avoiding it like the plague. Not only does Revit not have oval ductwork (yes we use them in the USA), but even the rectangular ductwork has very little flexibility in fittings. Fees in this industry are exceedingly tight, and the lack of productivity using Revit is an extreme problem. Autodesk would do well to create lots and lots of useful families if they want the Owners of engineering and architectural firms, the ones who pay the bills, to actually like the product.

  5. #25
    I could stop if I wanted to RevitNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Posts
    487
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: #$&%! - why can't Autodesk at least provide at least the BASIC REVIT family in MEP?

    Quote Originally Posted by mhaughey344313 View Post
    Not only does Revit not have oval ductwork (yes we use them in the USA), but even the rectangular ductwork has very little flexibility in fittings.
    Revit MEP has had oval ductwork for 3 releases. Nice rant.

  6. #26
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,056
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: #$&%! - why can't Autodesk at least provide at least the BASIC REVIT family in MEP?

    It is a reply to a thread that faded in September 2009...

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. can you create plans in revit? basic basic
    By comical_wenger in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-06-22, 01:36 PM
  2. Provide a Line-Based Wall Hosted family type. (Ceiling, floor, etc. as well)
    By Revit Wishes in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-07-04, 11:36 AM
  3. The filter tool should be more in-depth and provide the ability to choose family types
    By Revit Wishes in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-01-11, 02:25 PM
  4. Basic Family Creation
    By Mike Hardy-Brown in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-12-28, 07:32 PM
  5. No mentioning of Revit in Autodesk family of solution ?!!
    By Richard McCarthy in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2003-10-08, 02:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •