Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    Posts
    1,906
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

    Ok, I give up. Where are the "Flip Controls for adding them to a family in 2010. I opened a family (originally created in 2009, via Edit Family from within a project) and I cannot find these controls to add to this family. Any Help?

  2. #2
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    105
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

    They were left out. You will have to open another family and cut & paste to get it in.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict Andre Carvalho's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-06
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    2,386
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

    I don't have that issue. So far, The families that I have brought from 2009 had the flip controls available. They were most furniture, though. Which category is yours, Scott?

    Andre Carvalho

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    66
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

    I just checked a door I've been upgrading since 2008. I see the flip control tool in the Create tab. It already had Flips in it, but I was working on a window this morning and the flip controls were in the same place

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to brethomp's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    232
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

    Depends on the family type. Start a new family with the Door template and you will have the "controls" tool. Start a family with the Detail Component template, and you won't.

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    Posts
    1,906
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

    Andre,

    IT is a Detail Component

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,535
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

    I thought Michael was joking... but he's right. The control tools are nowhere to be found when starting with the detail component template. Copy/paste works but.... seriously?
    ____________________________
    Dimitri Harvalias LEED AP
    Summit BIM Consulting
    BIMblog.ca
    I was never just a CAD monkey, so I refuse to be a BIMpanzee!
    A BIM without the 'I' is just a BM - those in the medical profession know what that amounts to

  8. #8
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    6,869
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

    Wow... confirmed missing here, as well. I started a new detail component family, and indeed there is nothing between the Detail section of the ribbon and the Dimension section. Those 2 sections are directly adjacent on my screen.
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-03
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    278
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

    Just found the exact same problem, no flip contols in 2010 for detail components!

    But to add to that I went to where is my command and my entire session crashed! Which has lost me 20 mins work (no option to saveas either)

    My first day on 2010 isnt going well at all!

  10. #10
    The CADSmith Chad Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,731
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: "Flip" Control in Family Editor 2010

    Quote Originally Posted by benmay View Post
    Just found the exact same problem, no flip contols in 2010 for detail components!
    From memory, this was a known issue from the beta.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Request A "Click & Flip" Routine
    By BeKirra in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-04-21, 04:54 AM
  2. Update the "Flip Arrow" Option
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-05-25, 05:21 PM
  3. "Nesting" Flip Controls
    By phyllisr in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-02-07, 08:05 PM
  4. Why "wall" concrete is a different color than "family"
    By narlee in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-11-08, 08:12 PM
  5. What if? "Free" Family Editor Version
    By Scott Davis in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2004-08-11, 03:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •