Thread: 2010 Conceptual Massing Tools

Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default 2010 Conceptual Massing Tools

Just wondering, of those 'actively' using these tools, what are your opinions and comments? Not fishing for good or bad, just your version of the truth.

If you find them useful say so and if you find they have shortcomings articulate them (don't turn it into another Autodesk bashing thread please )

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Lightbulb Re: 2010 Conceptual Massing Tools

hi there!

Im an architecture student and i dont think anyone could say they are not worth using. I'm still playing with the new tools, and trying to figure out its limits [ ] but i must admit i've found the 2009 massing to be easier to edit and maintain as simple 2d extrusions.

But the new tools ARE pretty fantastical. Dragging edges has become a favourite of mine (particularly useful if you have a site Height Limit and the contours are really funky- add edges to the extrusion, then drag them vertically to meet the toposurface and voila !

The X-ray function in massing is also pretty interesting. I made a form by marking the path, placing a reference point and then drawing the cross-section and extruding, and then by activating xray i could edit the path nodes. In doing this i can now make a snake like form that can meander up my contours even- which was certainly difficult in the previous 2009. Actually if anyone knows, can you please tell me, is it possible to extend the "path" after the form has been created?