Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Adding Parameters to Project Information Revit 2010

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Brisbane-Australia & Phoenix Arizona
    Posts
    80
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Adding Parameters to Project Information Revit 2010

    I am fairly new to Revit so bear with me.
    I want to add some parameters to the Project Information.
    In Project Information you now have parameters for project name, project address and just a few others.
    Now I want to add here parameters that are now only sheet specific such as "Drawn By" and "Checked By".
    In our workflow we have this information static for the whole project.
    I've fiddled with this yesterday for hour on end and could not find a way to add parameters to Project Information.
    Also, it seems that all the available parameters listed for the titleblock family can't be changed. E.g. can I delete some of these that we never use. Or is this not possible because this is a System Family?

    Thx

    Leo

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2007-06
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    602
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Smile Re: Adding Parameters to Project Information Revit 2010

    Hi leothebuilder,

    You can add additional parameters to the project information if you wish.

    Select Settings - Project Parameters

    Click - Add

    Select Project parameter tick box in Categories

    Create a new parameter called "Drawn By"
    Click OK

    New Parameter is in your project parameter

    Cheers,

    Ian

    (PS - the above is for Revit 2009...... I am not moving until the problems are sorted!!)
    Last edited by designs241018; 2009-06-13 at 09:54 PM. Reason: further info

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Brisbane-Australia & Phoenix Arizona
    Posts
    80
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Adding Parameters to Project Information Revit 2010

    Hey thanks Ian.
    That works in a project file.
    I was trying to add these parameters to the titleblock family, e.g. my titleblock template file. When I in the family editor, the "manage" tab has different options and all I can use there is inserting Shared Parameters. If I use these to define labels in my titleblock they are not visible when I insert this sheet into a project. All I can see when I select the titleblock (highlight) is question marks where these labels should appear.

    If I create the parameters as you suggested, how do I place these in my titleblock as a label ? Thanks.

    BTW how's work in Melbourne and Australia in general. I am an Australian residing in Phoenix since late 2003 and am returning to Australia towards the end of July. Just wondering what the work scene is in our field. Ant ideas?

    Thx

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2007-06
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    602
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Adding Parameters to Project Information Revit 2010

    Hi Leo,

    If you have a look at the element properties for one of the existing labels (project name - client name) in your titleblock rfa, click the label edit button and you will find the list of shared parameters available to select.

    I think from memory, I simply copied and pasted one of the labels and amended the shared parameter accordingly.

    Cheers,

    Ian

    Work in Melbourne is OK at the moment. I am based in inner Melbourne and the vast majority of my work is the small to medium sized extensions to dwellings. That segment of the market is holding up quite well. I have a client who has a business in Fire Protection and he says the commercial sector is very slow for him at the moment.
    Last edited by designs241018; 2009-06-14 at 04:13 AM. Reason: typo

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time jetisart's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia
    Posts
    607
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Adding Parameters to Project Information Revit 2010

    Quote Originally Posted by leothebuilder View Post
    ... That works in a project file.
    I was trying to add these parameters to the titleblock family, e.g. my titleblock template file. When I in the family editor, the "manage" tab has different options and all I can use there is inserting Shared Parameters. If I use these to define labels in my titleblock they are not visible when I insert this sheet into a project. All I can see when I select the titleblock (highlight) is question marks where these labels should appear...
    Leo,

    What you have to do is to use shared parameters indeed, but after you saved and loaded your title block into the project, you must also load these shared parameters to the project (via Settings->Project Parameters).

    Then they will be visible in your project. But... ONLY in this project, so if you want them to be visible in EVERY project load them into your template file...

  6. #6
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Brisbane-Australia & Phoenix Arizona
    Posts
    80
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Adding Parameters to Project Information Revit 2010

    Thanks Ian & Jerry....
    Got it to work this time around...........just had to add these shared parameters to the project template was all...duhh.

    Jerry, what's the work situation like in Brisbane and Queensland ?


    Thx


    Leo

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time jetisart's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia
    Posts
    607
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Adding Parameters to Project Information Revit 2010

    Quote Originally Posted by leothebuilder View Post
    ... Jerry, what's the work situation like in Brisbane and Queensland ?...
    Leo,

    I've been working predominantly in the low density residential market and for the regular designers/builders. I have a pool of my regular clientele so until now I didn't have to advertise.

    In light of this I can't really speak for the broad spectrum of the market. In my local sand box it's picked up a little lately but it's still fluctuating. The "first home buyers" market is the strongest, but obviously their needs and budgets are limited.

    Right now, from all my regular clients, I have just a handful of jobs. They are usually small. I think that it's going to be a trend now - going smaller and smaller.

  8. #8
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Brisbane-Australia & Phoenix Arizona
    Posts
    80
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Adding Parameters to Project Information Revit 2010

    Thanks Jerry....take care.....

    Leo

Similar Threads

  1. Scheduling Project Information with Shared Parameters in Multi-Building Project
    By blusurfer in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-08-20, 05:36 PM
  2. Project Information/Parameters
    By woknwolr in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-07-21, 10:53 PM
  3. Project Information Parameters
    By brian.79824 in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-01-11, 08:49 PM
  4. Adding information to the project
    By Wagurto in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-03-15, 01:12 PM
  5. project information (adding in shared parameters)
    By jarod.tulanowski in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-12-21, 08:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •