See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 8 of 37 FirstFirst ... 45678910111218 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 368

Thread: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

  1. #71
    I could stop if I wanted to TroyGates's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-08
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    281


    Default Re: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

    Quote Originally Posted by Wes Macaulay View Post
    Ri-i-i-i-i-ight. Does anyone see a solution in here? Yeah -- it's called Give the Consumer What They Want. Give 'em the 2009 UI and say use it at your own risk. And the risks are simply that some tools might not work. If that happens, you yank the ini file out of the Program folder and life goes on.

    Now of course there's always the slim chance that this ini file might cause something more devious in your Revit file. More devious than chronic eye fatigue? More chronic than macular degeneration? Right! I think people will take the risk and use the ini file to get back to the software they've loved.
    Why would you risk your company's project integrity and possible lost billable time on an unsupported, risky method of bypassing a software's features you are uncomfortable with?

    If you are on subscription, which most Revit users are, you can legally continue to use 2009. Is there a feature in 2010 that you have to have in order to do your projects?

  2. #72
    Revit Arch. Wishlist Mgr. Wes Macaulay's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    Posts
    3,348


    Default Re: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

    Display performance. We were really put off but 2009's slow display. We also want to use the new slope tool (which is great) and all the other refinements.

    My rant is on behalf of those who want to use 2010, but are getting set back by the new interface. And indeed, no one really knows that the risks of using the debug mode are. But so many people are so fed up with the Ribbon, that they're coming in droves to this thread anyway.

    This says something about the success of the new UI.
    Wes Macaulay LEED AP
    Teck Construction LLP
    Revit 2014 x64 | Win7 x64 | nVidia GT 650M
    Tell Adesk what you think!

  3. #73
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-06
    Posts
    3


    Default Re: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

    Subscription or no, if you bought 2009, you can continue to use it. Which we are.

    However, I think you overstate the risk involved. It's there to enable automated regression testing, in other words to ensure that new code didn't break old functionality. Presumably the released build passed those tests, so what's the problem? Limited access to new features? That I can access by re-enabling the ribbon as needed? Doesn't sound risky to me. And since I agree with the comment about support quality, having lost data with Revit that support wouldn't even respond to me about, well, I feel like I'm on my own anyway.

    Like most, we vehemently detest the ribbon as released. It is what is stopping us from moving to 2010. Like many, we will stay with the classic UI until there is an improvement worthy of the term "upgrade". If we have to stay on 2009 to get the better interface so be it, but...

    Of course we are not an island, and have consultants who might like to benefit from the various improvements in Structural and MEP 2010 in particular, but cannot unless we, too, move to 2010. Thus enabling the classic UI in 2010 is indeed important. The whole world cannot flip a switch and move to something demonstrably less productive.

    So I want the deleted post to return!

  4. #74
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Posts
    1,714


    Default Re: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

    Quote Originally Posted by TroyGates View Post
    Why would you risk your company's project integrity and possible lost billable time on an unsupported, risky method of bypassing a software's features you are uncomfortable with?
    Because you know that there is a very real chance that Autodesk is again not telling the truth, and in fact this method is perfectly stable, just not what Carl wants us to do? I wonder what the chance of that is? 80%? 90?
    If there are any real problems we will hear about it soon here or elsewhere, as people start to use Fails to Suck Mode. If in fact there are no problems, people can then use it and to Hades with Autodesk's pathetic little games, at least until they spitefully further break things in 2011. If there are real problems then once again the timid masses can thank those that push on the box for saving them from themselves.

    Looking forward to the reports from the field. For however long the AUGI sycophants let those reports see the light of day.

    G

  5. #75
    100 Club bulletproofdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    182


    Default Re: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

    Quote Originally Posted by Andre Baros View Post
    Looks like I'm too late. The instructions for restoring functionality are gone.
    You may be a little confused... this 'ini change' doesn't increase functionality. In fact it may decrease functionality, as discussed in this thread, not all of the 2010 functionality was incorporated in this form of the UI.

    If you need the updated functionality of 2010, get used to the ribbon. Otherwise, keep using 2009, which is a great tool!!!

    1 cent, 2 cents, whats that worth?

  6. #76
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2007-06
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    602


    Default Re: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

    OMG

    I have got the 2009 ui working and it is Sweet, Sweet, Sweet!!!

    Substantially faster that 2010UI (no waiting for icons to load - let alone chasing thing around the screen), sharper - no fuzzy edges - Yippee

    I am, once again, in love with Revit!

    Autodesk, I was almost of the view that I could live with the new UI (particularly with Cadwerx addon which effectively neuters it), but now, having seen how good the old UI is with 2010 I now want it back as a supported UI.

    Regards,

    Ian

    PS I promise I won't make any support requests - not much value there anyway.

  7. #77
    100 Club bulletproofdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    182


    Default Re: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

    OH MY GOD!!?!

    Soooo much quicker!!

    Switching between an open project and an open family takes less time than in 2009. In 2010, this takes ages, more than a second, unacceptable!!

    I can believe that Autodesk have shot 2010 in the foot.... I forgot how much faster the old UI was, and its even faster in 2010 (somehow)

    Support request coming from me to subscription center. I take back all my 'get used to it' comments. The ribbon interface is waaaaay too slow and relies on too much system resource for very little gain....

    Yippee!!?!

  8. #78
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-06
    Posts
    3


    Default Re: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

    It works! And is WAYYYYY BETTER than the ribbon!

    But! It appears that in this testing mode, keyboard shortcuts do not function! For automated tests, I guess that makes sense, but it cannot be a hard thing for Autodesk to address. Tough trade-off, and will have to mull the merits of using this versus staying with 2009 just for the keyboard shortcuts.

  9. #79
    I could stop if I wanted to TroyGates's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-08
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    281


    Default Re: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

    Autodesk will surely be taking time away from evolving the UI from the feedback users have been giving to now rework how their debugging system works to prevent users from circumventing their software in ways they hadn't intended. Users that I feel are pushing to low ethics in what I have always thought was a highly ethical industry.

    I don't think that the 2010 UI is perfect, but I am also understandable that Autodesk as a company will work towards refining the UI based on user feedback. I am truly sadden by how users that work in a professional industry can spew garbage on these forums. Where is your integrity? Where is your professionalism?

    Would your company be ok if your clients were using your designs in ways you hadn't intended?

  10. #80
    Revit Arch. Wishlist Mgr. Wes Macaulay's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    Posts
    3,348


    Default Re: Cracking The 2010 UI - Go back to classic

    I think you have to use the old KB shortcut file...
    Wes Macaulay LEED AP
    Teck Construction LLP
    Revit 2014 x64 | Win7 x64 | nVidia GT 650M
    Tell Adesk what you think!

Page 8 of 37 FirstFirst ... 45678910111218 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Classic menu for Civil 3D 2010
    By Torino in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-11-22, 04:36 AM
  2. How to get back the classic toolbars
    By terence.duggan1910 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-09-30, 06:36 PM
  3. AutCAD Classic back to Mechanical
    By alan.123099 in forum AutoCAD Mechanical - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-05-27, 10:35 PM
  4. I would like the classic Revit interface back
    By Revit Wishes in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-11-03, 03:33 PM
  5. line tool greyed out in 2010 classic menu
    By gordons.68934 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-09-16, 05:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •