Thread: LINKING OBJECT DATA TO TABLES

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Default LINKING OBJECT DATA TO TABLES

Hi there,

I am new to AutoCAD, but have been using VectorWorks for about 15 years. Overall, I am finding the transition a fairly painless one, with one exception:

Say I am working on a floorplan, and have a number of different polygons to indicate different departments on a plan (Menswear, Womenswear etc). What I would like to do is to link these polygons (specifically data about its area) to a cell in a table, so that when the area changes in size, the area disaplayed in the table is updated automatically (or at the click of a button).

This is a fairly straightforward operation in VectorWorks, but I cannot find any information about how to do it in AutoCAD, although I am sure that it is possible.

Any help would be much appreciated, bearing in mind that I am a complete noob, when it comes to AutoCAD!

Many thanks in advance.

Nick

All AUGI, all the time Capt. Computer Crasher's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: LINKING OBJECT DATA TO TABLES

Quote Originally Posted by nick.221615 View Post
    Hi there,

I am new to AutoCAD, but have been using VectorWorks for about 15 years. Overall, I am finding the transition a fairly painless one, with one exception:

Say I am working on a floorplan, and have a number of different polygons to indicate different departments on a plan (Menswear, Womenswear etc). What I would like to do is to link these polygons (specifically data about its area) to a cell in a table, so that when the area changes in size, the area disaplayed in the table is updated automatically (or at the click of a button).

This is a fairly straightforward operation in VectorWorks, but I cannot find any information about how to do it in AutoCAD, although I am sure that it is possible.

Any help would be much appreciated, bearing in mind that I am a complete noob, when it comes to AutoCAD!

Many thanks in advance.

Nick