See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Creating beams as vertical members

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-07
    Posts
    38
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Creating beams as vertical members

    I am trying to create a roof frame that has sloped W12 rafters with W8 "legs" that are about 4' tall. I can put the rafters in as beams and create a work plane to slope them and they will miter nicely at the ridge. But I only know how to put the W8 legs in as columns and then Revit will not miter the W12's and W8's. Is there a way to put in a vertical element as a beam?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,670
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Creating beams as vertical members

    I would place the W8 vertical using a brace, and use the beam tool to place the W12. Adjust the end to get the slope height you want. Create a temp elevation view of the objects. At a ref plane where the miter line would be. Use the cut geometry tool, select the ref plane as the cutting line. You'll need to do that to both the W8 & the W12. Then you can create a model group. When you create the group be sure that you select the ref plane as well. Then you can copy the group and all should be fine.
    Make sense?
    Dave Peterson

    Acad 2014 - Revit Structure 2013 & 2014 - Win 7 64 - i7-4770 4.5GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Geforce GTX 650
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-07
    Posts
    38
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Creating beams as vertical members

    Most of it made sense, but how do I actually draw the brace as a vertical member? Thanks.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,670
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Creating beams as vertical members

    Create a framing view on the grid line of choice. Go to that view and draw it vertical. You may want to draw a vert ref plane to make it vertical or pick a grid line. Once you have the vertical element, just move it to the correct location in plan.
    Last edited by david_peterson; 2011-07-22 at 04:45 PM.
    Dave Peterson

    Acad 2014 - Revit Structure 2013 & 2014 - Win 7 64 - i7-4770 4.5GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Geforce GTX 650
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2010-11-02, 03:04 PM
  2. CW Mullion Join Leaves Gaps in Vertical Members
    By c.senior in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-07-16, 08:01 PM
  3. curved beams in vertical plane
    By tripon.ciprian in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-11-18, 11:21 PM
  4. Creating beams from 3D AutoCAD linework
    By colmag6 in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-11-09, 09:58 AM
  5. What is the deal with "vertical projection" on beams?
    By patricks in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-03-01, 02:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •