See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Change Text to Bold

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Posts
    8
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Unhappy Change Text to Bold

    I have many, many independent text items that I want to change from regular to bold (not all the text in the drawing but most of it). I tried making one group bold then matching properties...that does not work for "bold". I tired many things that did not work. I don't want to go through and hi-lite each line and select bold...would take all day. That is the only way I know how to do it. Does anyone know a easier way?

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    2,574
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Change Text to Bold

    Quote Originally Posted by dhf000 View Post
    I have many, many independent text items that I want to change from regular to bold (not all the text in the drawing but most of it). I tried making one group bold then matching properties...that does not work for "bold". I tired many things that did not work. I don't want to go through and hi-lite each line and select bold...would take all day. That is the only way I know how to do it. Does anyone know a easier way?
    You must be talking about a True Type Font (TTF)?

    I'm not sure how (and if) you can do what your asking, but if it were an SHX font, you could put the text you want bold on a layer that plots darker (wider lineweight), not sure if it would work for TTF.

    Just a thought
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________________________
    AutoCAD 2013 - REVIT Structure 2013 & 2014 - MicroStation V8i - Windows 7 Professional - (dabble with Inventor Professional 2013)

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    7,959
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Change Text to Bold

    Like Ted wonders... Is the text SHX or TTF?
    You could always create a new textstyle and then move the desired text to the new "bold" style too...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Posts
    8
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Change Text to Bold

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    Like Ted wonders... Is the text SHX or TTF?
    You could always create a new textstyle and then move the desired text to the new "bold" style too...
    It is TTF. Not that proficent with AutoCAD...doing this layout as public service for local cementery. It is all the plot numbers. I did it...had to convert to pdf for kinkos. With normal text it was alittle fuzzy in pdf so thought I would try making bold...thought it woulb be easy until I discovered I could only do it by opening each text string, hi-lite and then making it bold...one at a time. I tried to create style but not too sure how to implement. Got any simple instruction?

  5. #5
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,333
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Change Text to Bold

    Create a new textstyle (Style command) using a suitable font. You can set Bold, change the height, whatever. Then select all the text items that you want to change and use the Properties Manager to set them to use the new style.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  6. #6
    Active Member dsthilare's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    57
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Change Text to Bold

    As it seems its not for a standardized drawing, I would use a new layer thats has a thicker lineweight.
    CADApe - no monkey here

  7. #7
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    7,959
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Arrow Re: Change Text to Bold

    Quote Originally Posted by dsthilare View Post
    As it seems its not for a standardized drawing, I would use a new layer thats has a thicker lineweight.
    IIRC -- Lineweights and/or plotstyles with thicker lineweights have no effect on text created with TTF.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Posts
    8
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Change Text to Bold

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok View Post
    Create a new textstyle (Style command) using a suitable font. You can set Bold, change the height, whatever. Then select all the text items that you want to change and use the Properties Manager to set them to use the new style.
    I tried and have set up a style for the text I want...it will not change the text to bold on my drawing. I select many text items, go to the properties and select the new style..it does not change the text to bold. I appreciate all the suggestions but I am not getting anything that is working.

    I have attached a portion of the drawing for example. Again my goal is to change the text to bold without having to go to each one, hi-lite and then make bold...too time consuming for the many I have to do.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by dhf000; 2009-07-30 at 03:06 PM. Reason: add note about attachment

  9. #9
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    7,959
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Change Text to Bold

    Something we all overlooked, although we were missing a critial peice of information...

    This is MTEXT, not TEXT, and the MTEXT contains embedded formatting, which overrides the properties of the applied textstyle.

    You need to get rid of the embedded formatting if you want this MTEXT to take on the properties of the textstyle assigned to it.

    Edit an MTEXT item, and when you are in edit mode, press Ctrl+A to select all the text, then right-click and select Remove Formatting > Remove All Formatting.

    There is also a lisp routine available here to globally remove embedded formatting from a selection set of MTEXT entities.

    http://cadabyss.wordpress.com/
    Last edited by rkmcswain; 2009-07-30 at 03:17 PM. Reason: add URL

  10. #10
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    2,574
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Change Text to Bold

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    IIRC -- Lineweights and/or plotstyles with thicker lineweights have no effect on text created with TTF.
    Yea, I tend to agree ...that what I was thinking when I wrote:
    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    ....but if it were an SHX font, you could put the text you want bold on a layer that plots darker (wider lineweight), not sure if it would work for TTF.
    ....
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________________________
    AutoCAD 2013 - REVIT Structure 2013 & 2014 - MicroStation V8i - Windows 7 Professional - (dabble with Inventor Professional 2013)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Arial text bold in model space
    By jenniferchavez in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-09-28, 04:38 PM
  2. Italic / Bold Text
    By jonathanm in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-05-08, 02:46 PM
  3. Problem with Text Size, Regular vs Bold
    By Scott Davis in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2007-11-29, 10:32 PM
  4. Dimension text with Arial Bold
    By Henry D in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-12-17, 07:27 PM
  5. AutoCAD 2007 - DWG to PDF causes my Text to look bold
    By pangell in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-06-12, 09:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •