Thread: Help with weld symbol

Login to Give a bone

Default Help with weld symbol

I'm new to families and thought that taking on the weld symbol would be a good way to learn, I think I've bitten off more than I can chew. I wanted to make the weld symbol shorter than the out of the box version and then have a parameter for weld length which would shrink the length even more when not checked. I also wnated to make the weld symbols themselves smaller.

I took different files from here and mixed and matched. My weld symbols are smaller and the length does flex when you check the length parameter but, there are a few configurations where my length won't flex correctly and I can't figure it out, I thinking it might have soemthing to do with the way I embeded the tail, all around symbol or laid out he weld length parameter.

I have attached an image that shows the conditions where the length doesn't flex circled in blue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and if you are able to fix, can you please give an explanation of what you did.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Help with weld symbol

Jeff,

I adjusted the vertical invisible line to make the leader hit the endpoint of the weld symbol correctly. I also re-adjusted the length dimension to be set on the center line of the weld around symbol. then I re-locked all the endpoint together correctly. I have been flexing it and have not had it fail yet.

It is not possible but I though through trying to make it so the weld length blanks would drive the weld length visible check box.

Attached is the corrected copy.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Login to Give a bone

Thanks,

I will try it out. Sorry I didn't get this sooner after a few weeks of no replies I gave up.

Login to Give a bone