Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Needs help with the Plumbing piping and Electrical panel schedule

Login to Give a bone

Default Needs help with the Plumbing piping and Electrical panel schedule

Hi All,

Well this is the first thread for me, I am new here, and I am so glad that I found this place.

I started learning Revit MEP by myself 2 months ago when the MEP company I am working in got a project that has to be done on revit, so I had to start learning and ofcourse there is no budget for training or anything.

Anyway, I have 2 issues now.

First:
    Concerning the plumbing piping in Revit, when I create a system (ex: Cold water system) and I try to use the the automatic piping layout, the problem here is that it doesn't detect the walls of the linked model, so it doesn't route the pipes through the walls, so the automatic routing results in pipes all over the place, passing in the middle of the spaces and not through the walls as it should be, and when I modify the route manually and then try to create the pipes, it gives like tons of errors, so it ends up that I just add the fixtures to the system and then I start creating the pipes manually.

My question here is, is that a normal thing or I am missing something, cause it's really taking a lot of time.
    Also how can I benefit more from the plumbing system in Revit? Can the revit help me in the water calculations and the pipe sizing or it is just a matter of 3d piping?

Second:
    In the electrical area, As for the panel Schedule, the current panel in revit doesn't calculate LCL Adder (Low Calculated Load) and it also doesn't calculate the amperes, also there is no cells to specify how many lights and receptacles in each circuit. Can the panel be modified or can I add new cells to it? I read on many forums that people are creating the panel outside of revit (the old fashion way) but is there a way that I can utilize the panel in revit to meet our needs?

Thank you very much.