Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Fascia Joins

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    332
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Fascia Joins

    Why is that Revit can handle fascia joins on the downward slope end of a roof to horizontal connection properly but the upper slope end doesn't join??

    Anyone have a solution AKA "work-around"??

    Thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    47
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Fascia Joins

    Hello BAtman. I work in AUtoCAD. About the second attachment,I use the line which I made with a 3dpoly command for a pass. The section becomes a solid with a sweep command. I think that there is a similar function in Revit Architecture.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to nole's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Kharkov, Ukraine
    Posts
    394
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Fascia Joins

    Hi there.
    It seams that there are two facias in that corner. It won't work, it should be one facia for proper joining.
    Оr You picked wrong line during facia making.
    Neboysha NOVKOVICH
    TIS - Technologies-Information-Systems
    Autodesk VAR,
    Kharkov, Ukraine

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2003-06
    Location
    Wellington , NZ
    Posts
    565
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Fascia Joins

    Hi,
    see attached example.
    revit can handle the seamless joining OK (although this tool does have very limited functionality unforunately).
    Several things need to be true.
    The roof plane or planes need to be co-planar in the sense of one geometry, for the automatic joining of fascia and/or gutter runs.
    You can get 2 separate roofs that need to meet at some point - (see 2nd image where a small new gable end had to be joined into extg truss roof and the eave / soffit had to be aligned (in reality, the existing trusses to this area remained in place and the new ones bear upon them).
    Here The new work is a separate piece of roof geometry positioned to suit the soffit and the fascia runs were stopped in the internal corner, and returned as were the gutter sections and these aligned and joined correctly even though, they are not part of the same roof geometry.

    All the alignments need to be the same and the selection edge of course must be the same however, this will work.
    regards
    trombe
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by trombe; 2009-08-27 at 07:30 AM. Reason: too fast on hide

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    332
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Fascia Joins

    The fascia I have created is a "single" element.

    I have tested several different scenarios and there are no real problems with the fascia tool, except for the situation where an upward pointing fascia ends at the top of a slope and then any horizontally abutting fascia needs to meet it. As I have shown in my pictures above the join does not occur.

    This is peculiar because it works in the reverse, which is essentially a similar situation. That is where the downward pointing end of the fascia at the bottom end of a slope meets and joins any horizontally abutting fascia.

    This problem can be replicated in any Revit version.

Similar Threads

  1. Roof fascia - "Can't create Fascia"
    By tomm in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2014-05-14, 04:05 PM
  2. Dormer and Fascia
    By ddelaney.wit750576 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-06-17, 06:42 PM
  3. fascia
    By ntnik in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-07-17, 03:48 PM
  4. Fascia
    By ford347 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-06-08, 05:19 PM
  5. Fascia mitre
    By chad_middlemis in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-10-14, 08:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •