Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question:Change a Components Level when greyed out

Login to Give a bone

Default Question:Change a Components Level when greyed out

I know there must be a simple answer. Residential: I have tried to install a tub on the lower level but it attaches to an associated level BF below (how to change this)? The level constraint is greyed out. Other fixtures insert correctly from the library at the correct level and they are not greyed out only the tubs. I think I have two issues why is the level contraint greyed out in the properties and where do you modify associated levels? I have tried everything I can think of. I'm still a novice trying to learn. JD

I could stop if I wanted to
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Question:Change a Components Level when greyed out

Are you using worksets? If this element is not editable because it's in an unopened workset, you need to open that or click on the puzzle piece to make this element editable.

Login to Give a bone

Not sure what is causing your problem, but a solution is to select the tub in the model and hit the copy button. Then hit Paste-Aligned and select By Level and select the correct level. That should work in most cases.

Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Login to Give a bone

Wink Re: Question:Change a Components Level when greyed out

The tub Family may be "hosted" by a floor or a wall, or "unhosted", depending
    on how it was originally created.

You may be able to "re-host" the tub by selecting "pick host".

The one I just loaded was a wall-hosted tub, so I was able to move it's
    host to different walls easily.

The tub Family most likely has a "system level" associated with it.
    Open the Family editor, and take a look at an elevation view. There should be a default
    Level called "Floor Line" or something like that. When you load the family into your project,
    and then place the tub, Revit is "looking" for a host ( if it is a hosted family )