Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: AutoLISP

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    43
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Question AutoLISP

    I can't get any of my lisp commands to work with Civil 3D 2009. I read that they should be included in the deployement, but I have already done the deployment. I was wondering is there anyway to add them after deployment.

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,017
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoLISP

    They certainly don't have to be included in a deployment. I would venture to say that most shops keep their lisp files in the same directory year after year and release after release and simply add the path to the support file search path.

    When you say you "can't get them to work" - what exactly do you mean? Do you mean that you are typing in the shortcut or lisp function name and they don't run, or did you manually load them and they won't run, or will they run to a certain point and then fail?

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    64
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoLISP

    Is civil 3d pointing to the correct folder? Try this while running civil 3d. Type OPTION
    Select File Tab> Select the first folder (Support File Search Path) Scroll down to see where Civil 3d is pointing to a lisp folder. Then also check on the next folder (Working Support File Search Path) to see if Civil 3d is pointing to a lisp folder.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    43
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoLISP

    I type in the commands and it doesn't recognize them. The Support File Search Path does have the correct path listed under it, but they are still not working. The lisp routines have been working for every landesk release for years, but they wont work for Civil 3d 2009, and I just don't know why. I didn't create them, the person who did is no longer with our company. They are also older, possibly from the 90s. With the slow economy we don't have the funds for training and help, so teaching myself Civil 3D is going a little rough. I have done the past 3 installs for landesk and never had this problem.

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict sinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,986
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoLISP

    If the commands worked on Land Desktop elements, they may not work in Civil 3D. Civil 3D and Land Desktop are quite different.

    Commands that work only on core Autocad elements such as lines and blocks should still work. But if your old customizations accessed any Land Desktop elements, those routines would need to be rewritten for Civil 3D.

    Of course, with Civil 3D, you may no longer need many of those routines, because Civil 3D may now perform those tasks itself. Or other changes in the design of Civil 3D may make your routines unnecessary, because of different workflows.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    43
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoLISP

    I think that it is a compatability problem, since land has projects and Civil 3D doesn't. I think this list routines were written around having a project since they would not work if a project wasn't active.

  7. #7
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,017
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoLISP

    Quote Originally Posted by Lisa Marie View Post
    I type in the commands and it doesn't recognize them.
    Then it sounds like they have not been loaded into memory.
    Have you tried manually loading the lisp file, then try to run it?

    You can load a lisp file by:
    1. Dragging the file from Windows Explorer onto the drawing editor
    2. Using the APPLOAD command
    3. Using this lisp syntax at the AutoCAD command line:
    (load "\\\\server\\share\\mylisp.lsp")
    (load "C:\\CADSTUFF\\mylisp.lsp")


    If the lisp file is in the support file search path, you can omit the path in step 3.
    If the lisp file requires support files (like DCL files for example), they may have to be in a directory that is in the support file search path. Even worse, they could have a hard coded path...

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict sinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,986
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoLISP

    I suspect the problem is caused because the routines try to access Land Desktop elements, so the routines are encountering errors when they are loaded, and therefore no commands are available.

    Do you see error messages when you try to load the LSP files?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    43
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoLISP

    When I used APPLOAD to load them they said loaded successfully, but when I try to activate them it says unknown command.

  10. #10
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,017
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoLISP

    Quote Originally Posted by Lisa Marie View Post
    When I used APPLOAD to load them they said loaded successfully
    Check the command line history after using APPLOAD.

    The APPLOAD dialog says "loaded successfully" when loading any LSP file, even if the file doesn't load completely due to an error.
    Last edited by rkmcswain; 2009-09-02 at 06:08 PM. Reason: clarify

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Autolisp
    By thechinaman in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2011-05-23, 04:07 AM
  2. autolisp help
    By sam_ctlim in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-06-11, 11:51 AM
  3. Autolisp
    By bulalakaw80 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-11-15, 06:32 PM
  4. AutoLisp or VBA
    By red2002yzfr1 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-05-22, 02:36 PM
  5. autolisp help
    By guyogordo in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2004-09-20, 12:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •