Thread: Advice for New IT/CAD Manager

Login to Give a bone

Default Advice for New IT/CAD Manager

Hi -
    This is my first Augi post, so bear with me....I have been the "default" CAD & IT manager for my 45+ person Architecture firm for the past 3 years, handing everything from new workstation selection and ACAD network deployments to printer setups and file archiving and backup management. We also have two outside IT administrators at my disposal - one for general network & connectivity issues and another for off-site file backup and Exchange hosting. My background is in architecure, not networking or computers, so everything that I know I have learned on the job. Also, I am still managing projects as best I can, until additional capable staff is available.

My firm is growning very quickly, and soon will be operating our of multiple offices in the US. I would like to continue my role as an in-house IT and CAD Manager, but am running into some issues with the office administration, specifically regarding security. For instance, my access to the domain and file servers has been recently taken away, due to issues with file security, and I am no longer able to add or remove computers from our Domain without calling the Newtork Administrator.

Looking for feedback out there from other CAD/IT managers - how do you guys handle file security out there in your firms? How much network administration do you handle yourselves, and how much do you outsource? Do your CAD managers have any access to domain controllers or file servers?

Any advice you can offer is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Login to Give a bone

Question Re: Advice for New IT/CAD Manager

Quote Originally Posted by kmaggio View Post
    For instance, my access to the domain and file servers has been recently taken away, due to issues with file security, and I am no longer able to add or remove computers from our Domain without calling the Newtork Administrator.