See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Formula help please

  1. #11
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    279


    Default Re: Formula help please

    Okie Dokie...

    Yea - these just don't make much sense to me... Any good sites that explain?

    Munkholm - your first 2 part formula makes sense to me, it's when you guys are combining if)and)or that my brain loses reception...


    Joe - I pasted in your last formula, and it works!!! No idea how or why... but THANKS VERY MUCH!!!
    Last edited by jayc; 2009-11-09 at 10:07 AM.

  2. #12
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    279


    Default Re: Formula help please

    Eureka!

    I get the statement!!! (mostly...)

    Much easier to understand for mathmatic-a-phobes like myself if you do this:

    H =

    if(and(or(A > B, A = B), or(A > C, A = C)), A,

    if(and(or(B > A, B = A), or(B > C, B = C)), B,

    if(and(or(C > A, C = A), or(C > B, C = B)), C, 0.0)))



    I'm still not 100% on the and(or at the start of each line...

    But this has helped me get my head round this stuff a lot.

  3. #13
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    279


    Default Re: Formula help please

    One issue I have found is that the 'H' parameter can be moved freely...

    It doesn't seem to be locked to the highest value of A, B or C - It works initially, but then in project environment I can drag it on it's own away from the value it was linked to...

  4. #14
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,316


    Question Re: Formula help please

    Quote Originally Posted by jayc View Post
    One issue I have found is that the 'H' parameter can be moved freely...

    It doesn't seem to be locked to the highest value of A, B or C - It works initially, but then in project environment I can drag it on it's own away from the value it was linked to...
    Are these Instance or Type parameters?

  5. #15
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    279


    Default Re: Formula help please

    They are all instance parameters atm...

    I'm a little puzzled why some of my parameters can be edited manually, even though they are controlled by a formula...

    Surely it is the formula that controls the result, so why can it just be manually changed?

  6. #16
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,316


    Default Re: Formula help please

    Quote Originally Posted by jayc View Post
    They are all instance parameters atm...

    I'm a little puzzled why some of my parameters can be edited manually, even though they are controlled by a formula...

    Surely it is the formula that controls the result, so why can it just be manually changed?
    One quick thought on this. If all of the length parameters are instance, then I would expect for the geometry to be able to be grabbed and moved around. Even if it is controlled by a formula, it might be possible that the formula is getting overridden or the parameters in the formula are changing as well.

    I would try changing your length parameters to type to see if that fixes your issues.

    Just shooting from the hip, and I'm probably wrong about it. I need more Red Bull.

    Hope this helps,

    Jeff S.

  7. #17
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    Posts
    1,906


    1 members found this post helpful.

    Default Re: Formula help please

    Quote Originally Posted by jsteinhauer View Post
    One quick thought on this. If all of the length parameters are instance, then I would expect for the geometry to be able to be grabbed and moved around. Even if it is controlled by a formula, it might be possible that the formula is getting overridden or the parameters in the formula are changing as well.I would try changing your length parameters to type to see if that fixes your issues.
    I ran into this not too long ago. If you are using instance parameters in your families (I do extensively, due to one length needing to be instance that others are calculated off of), and you don't want users to be able to just "grab" a part and begin changing formulas, you need to go into the family, and make sure that the reference planes on BOTH ends of the dimensions/parameters, are set to "Not a Reference". Then, even though it is an instance parameter, the blue grips will not appear, and users cannot just grit and change it. I believe in 2009, it only took one of the two reference planes to be "Not a Reference" to work, but my memory could be faulty.

  8. #18
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    279


    Default Re: Formula help please

    Cheers guys

    I hope this thread helps others that struggle to understand this stuff!

  9. #19
    100 Club bulletproofdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    182


    Default Re: Formula help please

    As Scott says, you can remove the 'handles'. I have noticed that if you drag an instance parameter that drives a formula, it doesn't seem to 'update' the resultant formula. If you adjust the value under element properties, the formula will adjust.

    I am not sure why this is, and advise you to use the 'no handle' approach to avoid confusion.

    I have even tried to set up a 'slider' beside the family to drive an instance based formula, which failed when dragged graphically...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: How to use this Formula,"Formula That Returns Strings"?
    By mike99 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2013-01-09, 06:28 AM
  2. Yes/No Formula
    By lonewolfjustin in forum Revit MEP - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-06-05, 12:21 AM
  3. Formula Help
    By stelthorst in forum Style Management
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-03-25, 05:07 PM
  4. Formula Use
    By jkrager in forum Revit Architecture - Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-01-20, 06:57 PM
  5. = a formula
    By GuyR in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 2005-03-11, 08:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •