See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: duct and pipe hangers

Login to Give a bone

Default duct and pipe hangers

Hey everyone, I have been all over this site and can't seem to find an answer. First off I want to let everyone know I am new to Revit. I have a good five years experience with other AutoCAD formats. What I was wondering is there a way to model duct and or pipe hangers in revit. I am hearing conflicting reports and figured this is the best place to ask. If any one can give ma a hint it would be greatly appreciated. Even if there is a way to do it in AutoCAD MEP and link it over. Thanks for the help in advance.

Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: duct and pipe hangers

There is no "hanger tool". This leaves the Component tool and creating a hanger family to use with it. You can create individual units or a line-based version that lets you "install" a series of them with a couple of points, start and end. Some will argue that it is too much detail but hangers often result in conflicts. At some point it starts to make sense to account for their whereabouts in the model.

I could stop if I wanted to
    Login to Give a bone

Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford View Post
    Some will argue that it is too much detail

I would tend to agree....way too much detail.
    Hangers are the sort of thing that should be left up to the contractor anyway. Can't speak for you, but my level of consultancy based expertise dictates that even if I could successfully model them, chances are:
    a. I'd get the spacing wrong, or
    b. If I was lucky enough to get the spacing right, I'd get the positioning wrong, or
    c. Their presence would only add to the sluggishness of the model regeneration times which are already unbearably slow....!!

Let's get the basics right first, before we start messing around with nuts and bolts.

Login to Give a bone