Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: What can I do to mess up the model?

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    1,418
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default What can I do to mess up the model?

    I'm putting together a Lunch & Learn session titled "What can I do to mess up the model?" & I thought it might be a fun discussion on AUGI as well. Here's the list I've got so far:

    Lots of big ugly AutoCAD drawings

    That’s not “just a line” - Deleting floors

    Explode AutoCAD drawing

    Change Family size but not name

    Import DWG instead of Link

    Over-detailing

    Putting things on the wrong workset

    Locking Walls

    Change a Family Type instead of creating a new one

    Deleting elements instead of modifying an existing one

    Locking a dimension, then deleting it.

    Not just deleting floors, but anything they don't verify what it is or talk to the team.

    Ignoring lower right warnings without understanding them or going back to clear them.

    Not using groups or changing a group when you should make a new one or ungroup that one.

    Not using design options for a PR issue.

    Not talking to your team so you know what each other are doing.

    Not considering early what custom families would help and requesting them.

    Drafting too much.

    Too many In-place Families

    Placing multiple family’s on top of one another, because it did not show up in your current view (visibility graphics).

    Using Text instead of Tags

    Remove a Link instead of Unloading (after VV was set up)
    Last edited by DaveP; 2010-01-13 at 08:30 PM. Reason: That's what I get for pasting from Word
    Go back to AutoCAD? I'd rather lose my right arm!

  2. #2
    100 Club smcmillin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-07
    Posts
    180
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: What can I do to mess up the model?

    Nice list, I wish I had something to add, but I can probably fill an hour on "Change a Family Type instead of creating a new one" alone.

    A lunch & learn on best practices when working with an MEP consultant using Revit would also be a good one.
    You can't triple stamp a double stamp Lloyd!!!

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to TroyGates's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-07
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    281
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: What can I do to mess up the model?

    * Deleting a level line in an elevation or section instead of hiding it.

    I usually demonstrate this in my training classes to show the impact that levels have on all objects since all objects require a base level. To sum it up, it deletes all the objects that have a base set to that level.
    Troy Gates
    Design Technologies Manager
    KTGY Group, Inc
    http://twitter.com/troygates

    Be like water. Powerful. Gentle. Adaptable. Ever-changing.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to Phil Read's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    398
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: What can I do to mess up the model?

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveP View Post
    Remove a Link instead of Unloading (after VV was set up)
    Hi Dave -

    I wouldn't even remove it. I'd associate it to a unique workset (ie, "Link - Structure") and then close the Workset.

    This allows one person to close the Workset in their unique Local file without Unloading it (which effects the whole project and team).

    I've seen Unloaded links get Removed and re-linked when someone is in a hurry - and all of the dimensions, etc associated to that link get deleted. Closing an associated Workset avoids this. Just remember to Open all the Worksets when printing!

    BTW - still remember #3 on your list well.

    -Phil

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    Posts
    1,906
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: What can I do to mess up the model?

    After setting up Copy/Monitor with a consultant, Deleting something that they are monitoring, without telling them that it was done in an email. This causes an entry in the Monitor report that will never go away.

Similar Threads

  1. Clash Test Crash Mess
    By crawfords in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-05-26, 12:16 AM
  2. Curtain Walls: Scheduling Mess ?
    By carlos.197751 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-10-21, 08:03 PM
  3. Error mess
    By genesisd_d in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-11-16, 10:45 PM
  4. Did I mess up project north?
    By petervanko in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2006-10-11, 09:28 PM
  5. Grid line mess
    By Allen Lacy in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2003-07-03, 10:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •