Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Crane rail style

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Saginaw, MI
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Crane rail style

    I'm trying to create a craane rail that works like a beam. I've created a shape and style, but when I apply to the beam it does not show up as a crane rail.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,744
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Crane rail style

    Why not just use the OOTB crane rail? "S" shapes are available as a structural member.
    If you want to use your own profile, create the profile shape and create a new structural member style and use your profile.
    I took a look at your style, all you needed to do was change the profile to your "rail" profile in the member style.
    Let us know if you have additional questions.
    Last edited by david_peterson; 2010-01-21 at 02:39 PM. Reason: addl info
    Dave Peterson

    Acad 2014 - Revit Structure 2013 & 2014 - Win 7 64 - i7-4770 4.5GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Geforce GTX 650
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Saginaw, MI
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Crane rail style

    Quote Originally Posted by david_peterson View Post
    Why not just use the OOTB crane rail? "S" shapes are available as a structural member.
    If you want to use your own profile, create the profile shape and create a new structural member style and use your profile.
    I took a look at your style, all you needed to do was change the profile to your "rail" profile in the member style.
    Let us know if you have additional questions.
    Not sure what an OOTB is? I never thought to check the "S" shapes for a rail, I know "S" shapes are used for trolly's, but this needs to be a rail.

    As for applying the "rail" profile to the member style, I did, but no change. I figured it must not be that easy!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-17, 09:55 PM
  2. Crane
    By stusic in forum DV - Gallery
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2009-08-01, 02:26 AM
  3. Crane Rail Beam Family
    By dlampley.41310 in forum Revit Structure - Families
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-07-02, 09:03 PM
  4. Crane Rail needed!
    By dan.ungureanu in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-01-23, 07:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •