See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: polyline to viewport

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-09
    Posts
    32
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default polyline to viewport

    Using Convert Object to Viewport command when I convernt a closed polyline to a viewport and then select that viewport in the Properties dialog box CAD shows 2 objects selected one is the viewport and the other one is the polyline itself. I think after converting the polyline to viewport it should be a single object only and not two.

    Secondly if their are 2 objects then why the viewport is not visible and only the polyline is visible. Is the viewport some invisible entity that we cannot select separately without selecting the polyline. If they are two objects how to separate them from each other.

    Please Explain.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    100 Club Paul Munford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Location
    London
    Posts
    170
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: polyline to viewport

    This behaviour is correct. The polyline is the clipping path for the viewport. If you delete the polyline the viewport will go back to being un-clipped. Why would you want to separate them!

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,095
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: polyline to viewport

    Quote Originally Posted by mdsalman2003 View Post
    Using Convert Object to Viewport command when I convernt a closed polyline to a viewport and then select that viewport in the Properties dialog box CAD shows 2 objects selected one is the viewport and the other one is the polyline itself. I think after converting the polyline to viewport it should be a single object only and not two.

    Secondly if their are 2 objects then why the viewport is not visible and only the polyline is visible. Is the viewport some invisible entity that we cannot select separately without selecting the polyline. If they are two objects how to separate them from each other.

    Please Explain.

    Thanks.
    This is the way it has always functioned. Iif you want a rectangular viewport, use mview, and draw the rectangle. When you want odd shaped viewports (i.e. circle), select the object option from mview and click on the object. When selected, in 2010, it shows the viewport properties by default, but it is still one of 2 objects, the circle cannot be separated from the viewport, if you try to delete it they both go away. The circle is the clipping boundary for the viewport. In the properties palette, you can modify both objects independently of each other by selecting the appropriate object from the pulldown at the top.
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    WIGHTMAN & ASSOCIATES, INC.
    ENGINEERING <> SURVEYING <> ARCHITECTURE
    AutoDesk Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 x64
    Windows 7 Pro x64

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,332
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: polyline to viewport

    To put it another way - every viewport is rectangular. If it appears non-rectangular it has been clipped so you need both the viewport and its clipping object.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2007-09-10, 05:01 PM
  2. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2007-05-09, 09:23 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-06-16, 07:06 AM
  4. Smaller Viewport to hide / mask part of a larger Viewport
    By thomas.stright in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-04-05, 11:03 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-10-06, 01:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •