Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Posts
    25
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

    I have an old version of AutoCAD 2002 LT at home that I occasionally use and I was wondering if it would be possible to install it on my new laptop that is running Windows 7, which I think is 64 bit?

    I know 2002 is really old, but I have ACAD 2010 at work and I don't have the money to upgrade from 2002 at home for occasional use.

    Any idea?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,095
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

    Quote Originally Posted by bkimmel View Post
    I have an old version of AutoCAD 2002 LT at home that I occasionally use and I was wondering if it would be possible to install it on my new laptop that is running Windows 7, which I think is 64 bit?

    I know 2002 is really old, but I have ACAD 2010 at work and I don't have the money to upgrade from 2002 at home for occasional use.

    Any idea?

    Thank you
    if your work is on subscription, have you looked into seeing if you can get a home use license?
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    WIGHTMAN & ASSOCIATES, INC.
    ENGINEERING <> SURVEYING <> ARCHITECTURE
    AutoDesk Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 x64
    Windows 7 Pro x64

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    3,321
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

    I doubt if many people are trying it, but there's really no reason it should not work. 2002 will run under XP, and doesn't require any specific version of dotNet to run.

    Worst case is you'ld need to run Win7 professional and run 2002 under XP Mode.

    **really worst case would be needing to run in a virtual machine booting XP, but I doubt if that would be necessary.

    You could also look at DoubleCAD XT. There's a free version which is not restricted to non-commercial use, unlike the free ProgeCAD.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Posts
    25
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill View Post
    if your work is on subscription, have you looked into seeing if you can get a home use license?
    No. I only use my 2002 version at home a couple times a year maybe, so it's not worth asking about a home use license. I was just curious if it would work was all.
    Last edited by bkimmel; 2010-03-01 at 07:51 PM.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Posts
    25
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    Worst case is you'ld need to run Win7 professional and run 2002 under XP Mode.
    I do not have Windows 7 Professional. I have Windows 7 Home Premiun edition, so I don't know if that would work.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Posts
    25
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    You could also look at DoubleCAD XT. There's a free version which is not restricted to non-commercial use, unlike the free ProgeCAD.
    I have never heard of DoubleCAD XT before. I'll take a look at it.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,260
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

    Quote Originally Posted by bkimmel View Post
    I have an old version of AutoCAD 2002 LT at home that I occasionally use and I was wondering if it would be possible to install it on my new laptop that is running Windows 7, which I think is 64 bit?

    I know 2002 is really old, but I have ACAD 2010 at work and I don't have the money to upgrade from 2002 at home for occasional use.

    Any idea?

    Thank you

    Quote Originally Posted by bkimmel View Post
    I do not have Windows 7 Professional. I have Windows 7 Home Premium edition, so I don't know if that would work.
    Then you will need to run XP-32 in a virtual machine or dual-boot Win7-64/XP-32.
    Dual-booting will allow full access to your graphics card under XP.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Posts
    25
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok View Post
    Then you will need to run XP-32 in a virtual machine or dual-boot Win7-64/XP-32.
    Dual-booting will allow full access to your graphics card under XP.
    I have no idea how to do that. I guess I'll probably just end up keeping 2002 on my old desktop computer and maybe installing DoubleCAD XT (like was suggested above) on my laptop and give that a try.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Posts
    688
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    **really worst case would be needing to run in a virtual machine booting XP, but I doubt if that would be necessary.
    doesn't running XP mode on Windows 7 automatically set up a virtual machine? Actually, I hope I'm dead wrong and there's a better way out there. I just bought a new laptop also with Windows 7 professional and the only way to run my AutoCAD 2007 was to download XP mode, install it, and then install Autocad 2007 IN XP mode. It is ridiculously slow! Every command or typed entry takes literally 20-40 seconds to process. Typing LINE at the command prompt takes about 20 seconds and then the command itself takes a while to get through. Is there something I did wrong in installing one or the other? Should I somehow install 2007 on Win7 but run it in XP mode (if that's possible)?

  10. #10
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,260
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2002 LT & Windows 7 Compatibility?

    Quote Originally Posted by Coolmo View Post
    doesn't running XP mode on Windows 7 automatically set up a virtual machine? Actually, I hope I'm dead wrong and there's a better way out there. I just bought a new laptop also with Windows 7 professional and the only way to run my AutoCAD 2007 was to download XP mode, install it, and then install Autocad 2007 IN XP mode. It is ridiculously slow! Every command or typed entry takes literally 20-40 seconds to process. Typing LINE at the command prompt takes about 20 seconds and then the command itself takes a while to get through. Is there something I did wrong in installing one or the other? Should I somehow install 2007 on Win7 but run it in XP mode (if that's possible)?
    The OP has Windows 7 Home Premium edition, not Professional or Ultimate so he doesn't have the luxury of XP mode - not for free anyway.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD and Windows Vista compatibility
    By Bear31831 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-04-12, 11:05 AM
  2. Windows Vista and compatibility with AutoCAD
    By smooth shoes in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2007-04-09, 11:25 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-01-19, 03:01 PM
  4. AutoCAD 2002 freezes as Windows is preparing to load AutoCAD
    By lance_lie in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-08-07, 03:41 PM
  5. Fatal errors using AutoCAD 2002 and Windows 98SE
    By prashantkhedekar in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-12-17, 11:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •