Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Linked Revit File - protocol

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2010-02
    Posts
    62
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Question Linked Revit File - protocol

    Our firm is working with another architecture firm on a project on which we are linking in each other's Revit files. Our structural consultant is also using Revit and we are linking this file in as well. Recently we have been getting an error stating, "Revit could not find or read 2 referenced files" and "Nested Link."

    I suspect that we are getting this message because of circular links. When we receive updated Revit files from our consultants do I need to remove the link to our file first and detach the file from central? What is the proper protocol for preparing a consultant's file before linking it into your own Revit file?

    Thank you in advance!

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    463
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Linked Revit File - protocol

    Welcome to AUGI.
    When we exchange models with other consultants we audit, detach from central, then remove all links, and purge unused everytime we get an updated model. This keeps the message about files not being found and unloaded from appearing. It also cuts down the file size and helps to keep things running smoothly.

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2010-02
    Posts
    62
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Linked Revit File - protocol

    Thank you so much, I really appreciate the help!

    Our firm is responsible for the interior of the project and our consultant is responsible for the exterior shell. When I open our central file to compact it I get an error message that, "multiple rooms are in the same enclosed region." This is happening, I assume, because there is something wrong with the link and the exterior walls are not being recognized.

    Is this an error I should worry about or is this normal?

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    463
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Linked Revit File - protocol

    You'll need to either set their exterior model to be room bounding, its a check box under the properties of the link. Or draw room seperation links in your model. The first option doesn't always yeild the correct results so you may still need room seperation lines along with it.

    A good way that I have learned to check out rooms overlapping is to go to the floor plan and in the visibilty/graphics setting under rooms turn on all three items. This will show each room with a color fill (light blue default) when rooms overlap the color gets darker as the number of rooms overlapping increases. Its a great visual tool to quickly find where the problems exist.
    Also depending on your floor to floor height you may have to watch for room volumes overlapping, it only beacomes an error if your floor to floor is less than Revit's default 10'-0" room height.

Similar Threads

  1. linked revit file
    By dflan in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-12-19, 06:38 PM
  2. Revit Plumbing Protocol: Laying Connections
    By se13gits in forum Revit - Student Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-08-15, 05:24 PM
  3. Linked Revit File
    By azmz3 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-04-02, 07:53 PM
  4. Revit Linked File
    By sharanumotgi in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-11-19, 10:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •