Thread: Few quick and easy questions from beginner

Login to Give a bone

Default Few quick and easy questions from beginner

hey guys, im just starting out and just have a few basic questions.

1. When I draw lines (spline-line) if i draw one line and then stop, then I want to start a new line from the end of the original line (like you do all the time in autocad) how do you get the start of the new line to snap to the end of the old line?

2. When I import a autocad file (Im just using import button) it doesnt really come in at the right scale, the autocad file doubles in size

3. If I have already created a floor plan in autocad, can I just import it and select the lines then extrude? or do I have to use snaps and trace over all the lines?

thanks in advance, sam.

I could stop if I wanted to
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Few quick and easy questions from beginner

Great questions! I think we all had ti face these at some point and others may have different solutions that I preent. I'll be interested in seeing those as well.

1) Couple things on creating splines that I find useful: as you are clicking in vertexes and run out of viewport space, use the "i" key to recenter and continue. By unchecking the "Start New Shape" button, you can keep going with the same object. Using the snap tool will help, but you may also make sure that the "Automatic Welding' is activated too.

2) In the import dialog box that appears after you select the file, there is an option at the top to adjust the incoming scale to match the Units that you have set up in Max. Be sure you know how Max is set up and what units the AutoCAD files was created in. The dialog box can rescale the incoming file pretty seamlessly, the other issue may be it's location in the coordinate space, but that's an entire subject in itself.