See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: "Revit can't do that....." series part 1

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time AP23's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    530


    Default "Revit can't do that....." series part 1

    I'll be posting in the coming weeks a few samples of geometry that is easy to create in other 3d software, but extremely difficult, if not impossible to do in Revit. These posts are not intended to bash Revit, but to discuss workarounds and discover new possibilities.

    First example: the glazed roof of Britisch Museum in London done by Foster and Partners.

    In Autocad (see attachment) or rhino, you can create this roof by lofting 3 profiles. Doing the same procedure in Revit will end up in an error. So you will need to move the inner profile above the second profile before moving the inner profile back to its original position. However, even so, you get an undesirable shape (see attachment).

    Anyone knows how to do this in 2 minutes?

    here is a pdf link to the roof structure http://opus.bath.ac.uk/14111/1/ChrisDeakin2001.pdf
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    810


    Default Re: "Revit can't do that....." series part 1

    I know a guy who helped design that roof. The initial model was very basic, full of straight lines. The guy I know then wrote custom software to 'relax' the shape whilst maintaining an even structural load. Revit can't do that, but neither can anything else.

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time AP23's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    530


    Default Re: "Revit can't do that....." series part 1

    It would at least help if Revit can make the basic Autocad shape.

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cliff collins's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    3,135


    Wink Re: "Revit can't do that....." series part 1

    Tom,

    Any idea what software WAS used on that roof? Doesn't Foster use Bentley?

    Could that roof shape be done in Revit by creating two or more separate pieces
    and then joining geometry, and mirrorring-- instead of trying to force it to do a multiple-profile loft, which it apparently can't do?

    Just a thought......

    cheers
    Cliff B. Collins, Registered Architect / BIM Specialist
    St. Louis, MO

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    ---
    Posts
    4,516


    Default Re: "Revit can't do that....." series part 1

    How to do it in two minutes? Import the CAD Model in to a Mass Family.

    Dont get me wrong, i LOVE AutoCAD and all of its modeling tools, but frankly.... Were talking about OTHER workflows that mean more than one platform. Modeled in Rhino? Getting detailed elsewhere, i presume. Modeled in AutoCAD? I GUESS you can detail it there, if you want to.

    Id just assume use the CAD Model in a mass family, and then use Revit for the rest. But yeah, those modeling tools sure would be nice with the power of Revit behind them.

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time AP23's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    530


    Default Re: "Revit can't do that....." series part 1

    Since RAC2010, the option to import 3d geometry from Autocad or other software has been a lot smoother. You can divide the surface, you can snap to intersection points on the imported geometry. You can even extrude the surfaces from the imported geometry. These things couldn't be done in previous releases, what makes the workflow with other modelersa now a viable option.

    But if you decide to do it in Revit, then the question is how. Creating separate pieces as Cliff suggested is an option.

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict jeffh's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Manchester, NH
    Posts
    1,087


    Default Re: "Revit can't do that....." series part 1

    Quote Originally Posted by cliff collins View Post
    Could that roof shape be done in Revit by creating two or more separate pieces and then joining geometry, and mirrorring
    I have not taken a lot of time to look at the issue but this was going to be my approach.
    ______________________________________________
    Jeff Hanson
    Sr. Subject Matter Expert
    Autodesk, Revit User Experience

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,049


    Default Re: "Revit can't do that....." series part 1

    Well, maybe it is possible to model this in Revit. Not in two minutes, though.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    810


    Default Re: "Revit can't do that....." series part 1

    Quote Originally Posted by Alfredo Medina View Post
    Well, maybe it is possible to model this in Revit. Not in two minutes, though.
    That's exactly the sort of thing that got fed into my aquaintance's software

    I don't know what the source and destination software was - this guy did all his work in C on his mac.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Posts
    17


    Default Re: "Revit can't do that....." series part 1


Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-11-13, 11:05 PM
  2. 2015: "make part" or "derive"...which is better?
    By mjncad in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2014-08-01, 08:25 AM
  3. "Revit can't do that....." series part 2
    By AP23 in forum Revit - Conceptual Design Tools
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-09-15, 12:59 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-10-23, 09:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •