See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: ACAD Workshop

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Default ACAD Workshop

I am an engineering instructor for our local university. I teach Technical Drawing using AutoCAD but in July I will be teaching a summer workshop for high school students. I wanted to see if anyone has any ideas to make this one week workshop easy yet instructional for the students. My thoughts were to give them a history on ACAD, introduction of the basic commands and finally have them do several 2 D objects like gage blocks using the tutorials provided in the ACAD tutoring book.

I need help in the following:

Does anyone any other ideas of ACAD that would be effective in capturing students interest in engineering?

Does anyone have a good history of ACAD notes I can include in my lecture slides?

Basic command instructions, I can use for a power point lecture?

Thanks,

Digital Delivery Director Brian Myers's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: ACAD Workshop

At first this won't seem like an answer, but read on as it leads to a bigger point. I first started using AutoCAD 9 back in 1989, so I've used it now for 21 years. Over the years I've used it for engineering (manufacturing), building systems, and then architecture. Today I train people on AutoCAD as well as Revit and a variety of other software... during this time I've trained over a dozen people that were 5 years old or younger at the time that I first started using AutoCAD.

1 person... wasn't born yet.

The reason I mention this, getting excited about AutoCAD is like getting excited about using a pencil. 21 years ago it WAS exciting. Today it's a tools to draw colorful lines and extrude objects in a SketchUp kind of way. Exciting programs include Inventor and Solidworks which allow individuals to not only model a part, but watch it as a component in a bigger system.